Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonatan Lind
Sweden
Gothenburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my first attempt at a review, so please bear with me. I've played the game once, with four players, but seeing that there is no review up yet, I decided to make one.

Introduction

Troyes is a game set in medieval France by the designers Sébastien Dujardin, Xavier Georges and Alain Orban.
Each player represent a rich family from the Champagne region of France, using their influence to recruit and supervise individuals from the three prominent domains: military (associated with the color red in every aspect of the game), religious (white), and civil (yellow).

Components
It's a classic euro game. You have standard meeples, cubes, cards, a board, money, victory chits and some discs. All familiar and comfy.

Setup and rules
Now, how does Troyes work then?
To explain this you need to know that the main mechanic in the game is centred around dice. Each player get to roll a dice for each citizen they have in one of the three buildings of influence, the palace (red), the bishopric (white) and the city hall (yellow).

Before the game starts each player draws a secret character card (more on this later).
There is also an initial placement when players place some citizens in the main buildings (4 each in a 4 player game). These citizens are placed "Settlers of Catan style". In other words, when all players have placed one citizen going clockwise, the last player places his second citizen and everyone else, going counterclockwise places the second citizen. This is repeated with the third and fourth citizen.
Since there are 6 spots for citizens in each of the main buildings, there will be 2 spots free after this initial placement (with four players). These are filled with neutral citizens (gray meeples).

Each player also gets some money (deniers) and some influence points that are tracked on the board.