Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

7 Wonders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hanging Gardens (B) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
R. O. Schaefer
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
A question from Spielbox Forum:
After finishing the second stage of the wonder (B) you can play both cards in round 6. The rules state:
Quote:

during the sixth turn, the player can therefore play both cards they have
in hand. If the second stage of the Wonder is not built, the Babylon player can then build it on their sixth turn and then play the seventh card instead of discarding it.


When playing both cards in round 6 to build two buildings: Can you use one resource twice for each of the buildings?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antoine Bauza
France
Valence
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb

When playing both cards in round 6 to build two buildings: Can you use one resource twice for each of the buildings?[/q]

Yes, it's two different cards, like two different turns... The first could help you to play the second (discard the 6th for money and use the money to play the 7th for example...)
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Zielinski
United States
Jenks
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Will post my semi-related question as an extension to this one...

For the 7th (extra) card, can you use the money received that round from commerce?

(A) No, because you play both cards in Round 6

(B) Yes, because you play the extra card in "Round 7"

We played (A)... and it did hinder Babylon from building his 7th. It went to coins.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Daoust
Canada
Boucherville
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Sorry to bring this back up, and I know it's been adressed in an other post but please help me to understand:

(A) seems to be right under strict reading of the rules.
- The rules do not mention a 7th round
- The rules do mention: "The coins earned through commerce during a turn cannot be used on that turn, only during the next one"

These two points are not in contradiction with what the author says:

toinito wrote:

When playing both cards in round 6 to build two buildings: Can you use one resource twice for each of the buildings?

Yes, it's two different cards, like two different turns... The first could help you to play the second (discard the 6th for money and use the money to play the 7th for example...)


The author says that it's like two different turns and that one building can help you pay for another building. However, he does not say that the rule of coins earned through commerce is changed.

Just my two cents
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aitor García Martín
Spain
Seville
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Quote:
Yes, it's two different cards, like two different turns... The first could help you to play the second (discard the 6th for money and use the money to play the 7th for example...)


Thank you, I had really big thoughts about this.

This is very confusing, at least in the Spanish rules, We've been playing like if you'd have to pay both cards.

Then I guess it is possible to play 2nd age and then use 7th card to build the third one, Am I right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Kupsik
Poland
Poznań
flag msg tools
Hello,

Can you use this 'ability' every age or just once?

Regards
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge
Switzerland
Lausanne
Vaud
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
robwinter wrote:
Hello,

Can you use this 'ability' every age or just once?

Regards
At the end of each age. So, you can play up to 3 more cards, if you build the 2nd stage of Babylon B during Age I. There are people who rush it, but I find it worthless; the Age I last card is usually trash.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michal Kazimierczuk
Poland
Sulejówek
mazowieckie
flag msg tools
mb
toinito wrote:

When playing both cards in round 6 to build two buildings: Can you use one resource twice for each of the buildings?

Yes, it's two different cards, like two different turns... The first could help you to play the second (discard the 6th for money and use the money to play the 7th for example...)


It seems an intuitive way of reading Babylon stage 2. Both cards in one turn would be quite impossible to be paid for in most cases, which would result in the wonder being imbalanced. Although I think it would be better to state it in the rules as "You gain an additional turn in which you may play your 7th card" or such, because "playing both cards during 6th turn" is kinda misleading as to whether a player needs to pay their combined costs at once.

But it also means that not only the Babylon player benefits from effects of this additional turn, but his neighbors do as well (they may receive extra money). Therefore the rest of players is a bit hindered.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mumu shanshi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
JuliartoJuLe wrote:
CMIIW.

YAW.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juliarto -
Indonesia
flag msg tools
mumushanshi wrote:
JuliartoJuLe wrote:
CMIIW.

YAW.


So you can play 7th card by ignoring what resources needed to play the 6th?
Meaning the resources is reset?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
mbmbmbmbmb
JuliartoJuLe wrote:
mumushanshi wrote:
JuliartoJuLe wrote:
CMIIW.

YAW.


So you can play 7th card by ignoring what resources needed to play the 6th?
Meaning the resources is reset?


You essentially get an extra turn with the last card. You can build it, discard it for coins, play it into your wonder.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juliarto -
Indonesia
flag msg tools
darthnice wrote:
JuliartoJuLe wrote:
mumushanshi wrote:
JuliartoJuLe wrote:
CMIIW.

YAW.


So you can play 7th card by ignoring what resources needed to play the 6th?
Meaning the resources is reset?


You essentially get an extra turn with the last card. You can build it, discard it for coins, play it into your wonder.


I see.
Its considered as extra turn with fully recovered resources?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
mbmbmbmbmb
JuliartoJuLe wrote:
darthnice wrote:
JuliartoJuLe wrote:
mumushanshi wrote:
JuliartoJuLe wrote:
CMIIW.

YAW.


So you can play 7th card by ignoring what resources needed to play the 6th?
Meaning the resources is reset?


You essentially get an extra turn with the last card. You can build it, discard it for coins, play it into your wonder.


I see.
Its considered as extra turn with fully recovered resources?


Yes. Each turn your resources recover.
This is the response from the designer: Re: Hanging Gardens (B)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.