United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
badge
LUCHADOR!
mbmbmbmbmb
Review – Field Command: Singapore 1942 from Worlds Forge

Designed by – Khoo Yik Lin

Note – Thanks to the folks at Worlds Forge for providing a review copy of this game

I’ve been really feeling a need to connect with my Grognard roots lately and thankfully I have been able to get my mits on a few very interesting war games recently which I will be reviewing on Boardgames in Blighty.

To start with, I have been playing war board games since the early 1970′s and have seen many games and publishers through the years. I still even have some classic hex and counter games in my collection from the old guard of the 1st Golden Age of War gaming published by the giants Avalon Hill and Simulation Publications (SPI). I’ve followed many of the developments in war games through the years and am very happy to see that the standard and quality of war games has grown and flourished to the point where there are loads more options to choose from in terms of topic, scale of conflict, etc.

One niche within war games belongs to the Axis & Allies style of games which are mostly about area control and movement, come with miniatures which represent the military force involved and with combat results determined by a roll of the dice with the larger result winning the local battle.

These games have all been set in World War 2 and either been set in global, regional (Europe or the Pacific) or campaign scales, all of which are pretty grand in scope.