Recommend
103 
 Thumb up
 Hide
62 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Comprehensive Card Reference & FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kirk Bauer
United States
Smyrna
Georgia
flag msg tools
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
badge
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, I felt like it would be much easier to have the FAQs for each card in one place so I put this together (pending approval in the Files section):
http://www.kaybee.org/kirk/LoTR_LCG_Cards_and_FAQs.pdf

This, in addition to my quick reference / revised turn order chart (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/66624/clarified-turn-s...) covers every question and answer I have seen in all of the rules posts so far.

I plan to keep both documents updated with official FAQs and expansions.
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bo Link
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The description text for Faramir cuts off below the cell. Otherwise, this looks damn good.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Watson
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Really handy and nicely done, thanks for doing this!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fractal Energy
United States
Northridge
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are a hero.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Bauer
United States
Smyrna
Georgia
flag msg tools
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
badge
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oops, updated with that change, thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Fed
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice job. Thanks for the effort.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Jeppson
United States
Edmond
OK
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shouldn't Surge and Doomed reference the Staging step of the Questing phase instead of the Questing phase as a whole? I believe the rules reference the staging step. Other cards could come out because of moving to a new quest card well after staging but during the Questing phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WrongWrongWrong wrote:
Shouldn't Surge and Doomed reference the Staging step of the Questing phase instead of the Questing phase as a whole?
Correct
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Bauer
United States
Smyrna
Georgia
flag msg tools
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
badge
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WrongWrongWrong wrote:
Shouldn't Surge and Doomed reference the Staging step of the Questing phase instead of the Questing phase as a whole? I believe the rules reference the staging step. Other cards could come out because of moving to a new quest card well after staging but during the Questing phase.

Got it. I'll be making changes and I'll update the link once in a while. Eventually when the file upload is approved I'll have to immediately post the newer version.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
. .

Apex
North Carolina
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Cool idea. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Ramundi
Canada
Cornwall
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
I call green!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bookmarked.

Awesome work.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Pounsett
Australia
Mount Gambier
South Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Absolutely love it! Printed it off here at work
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Teralial False
msg tools
The entry for Doomed X states that it doesn't haven't if the card is eliminated by "when revealed" effects, but the entry for Thalin states that Doomed effects happen first.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Bauer
United States
Smyrna
Georgia
flag msg tools
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
badge
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Drustwn wrote:
The entry for Doomed X states that it doesn't haven't if the card is eliminated by "when revealed" effects, but the entry for Thalin states that Doomed effects happen first.

Oops, I confused myself in the process of making this. Doomed does resolve along with When Revealed, but not Surge (as far as I can tell). I'll update it soon.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Berends
Australia
Waurn Ponds (Geelong)
Vic
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for this.

saves me lots of time and effort, i would of spent searching forum
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Bauer
United States
Smyrna
Georgia
flag msg tools
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
badge
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just updated to the latest version. Sorry to all of those who already printed this out BTW, when I finally print it, I think I'll print full-duplex and 2 pages per side so it only takes 3 pieces of paper, but I don't mind small print.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just great, thank you very much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
That is great! Thank you!

Can I suggest that you put a version number somewhere in the document?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Nielsen
Denmark
├ślstykke
├ślstykke
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Card 27 is wrong: It only gives spirit not leadership. If played on hero that is not leadership. He will now be spirit and his original sphear. your text says spirit and leadership
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Bauer
United States
Smyrna
Georgia
flag msg tools
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
badge
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cryon wrote:
That is great! Thank you!

Can I suggest that you put a version number somewhere in the document?

Good idea, will do going forward.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Bauer
United States
Smyrna
Georgia
flag msg tools
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
badge
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
foppwin wrote:
Card 27 is wrong: It only gives spirit not leadership. If played on hero that is not leadership. He will now be spirit and his original sphear. your text says spirit and leadership

Oops, I knew that, brain fart on that one
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Bauer
United States
Smyrna
Georgia
flag msg tools
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
badge
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Version 1.3 has been uploaded to the link above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Conner
United States
Cypress
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks so much for the card reference. I was wondering just now... does the encounter discard pile get shuffled too when Eastern Crows leaves play? Lo and behold your document has my answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Bauer
United States
Smyrna
Georgia
flag msg tools
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
badge
Colored baggies for your games, www.boardgamestorage.com.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Version 1.4 now, we got a confirmation from Zambo on Theodred+Aragorn timing here: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/6759381
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Ronnnfeldt
Australia
flag msg tools
Hmm, I'm a little confused by FAQ for number 34 (feint). The description says it "Can be triggered any time during the action phase after the shadow cards are dealt. This means it can be triggered after any Shadow card is revealed, for example." The description then goes on to say "No defender can be applied to this enemy since the enemy never attacks".

If your triggering feint after the shadow card is revealed, wouldn't you already have had to declare a defender and exhaust him as this takes place first? Or is the intention of the description to take in to account say the Gondorian spearman dealing one damage? But then the text on Gondorian spearman states he deals his damage when he's declared a defender, which again would take place first....

Overall though, awesome job. thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   |