Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Introduction: So why write a review when there are already 11 reviews out there on BGG. Well, I just felt as if I might have something to say. I have been playing ASL since 1990 and played original Squad Leader starting in 1978. I play several types of games. I play zombie games, Euro-games, old hex and combat ratio wargames, card driven wargames, the list goes on. ASL is my favorite game.

History: John Hill wrote Squad Leader and it was first released in 1977. The game drew significant attention in the wargame community and sales took off. Like any good movie the consumers were waiting for a sequel. So three supplements later the system had evolved to the point where the rules and mechanics were starting to lose coherence and focus. A decision was made to scrap the whole project and rewrite the whole game from the bare bones and release it as Advanced Squad Leader (ASL) in 1985. The release was in a three ring binder, which is still the format used today. This allows the publisher to release correction pages to be placed in the binder. Then as a separate purchase you buy the entry level modules. Beyond Valor is the typical gateway, in Beyond Valor you get the boards and counters you need to play. This was also innovative. It is still quite rare for the rules and pieces to a game to be sold separately.