Thumb up
2 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Brink of War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Oort Cloud Settle for Robot ART rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Link
msg tools
In the solo game, the robot draws 9 and settles any yellow world on a robot settle action if playing as Alien Research Team.

I got into a corner case yesterday in which the final card the robot flipped before exhausting its draw stack was Alien Oort Cloud Refinery. I legitimately did not know if the robot settled it or not, as that world is not necessarily yellow. I read the solo rules in the BoW rulebook and then searched for an explanation in the rest of the text, and found no ruling. So I declared it to be a brown world and chucked it, resulting in a robot whiff.

Of course, wouldn't you believe that the final score was 51-50 in my favor, and I would've lost the tie breaker.

Is the robot supposed to settle AOCR in the solo game on an ART robot settle action? If so, I will redact the win in my records. Thanks!
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
flag msg tools
Good corner case!

In the normal game, AOCR can be freely considered a yellow windfall world or not by its drawing player (during search, for ART's consumption, etc.).

For the Robot, I would rule that it always considers AOCR a yellow world for both its own Settle and its Consume 2x power. I believe that's the "correct" decision for the Robot to take most of the time, so let's make it the automatic decision.
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.