Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chad Ridgley
United States
Copperas Cove
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Though this board game is well-known and has been reviewed several times already on BGG I wanted to add my two cents on a game I am familiar with. As a bit of background I want to first say A House Divided is my favorite in the genre of Civil War strategy level games. It was my first foray when I started playing it in the 2nd edition back in 91 and I still find myself replaying the 3rd edition set with the Living Rules that are posted online. I have to say that the 3rd edition components are lovely and really worth the upgrade if you owned and enjoyed playing the previous editions.

As many have noted, A House Divided may not be as detailed as others, but for a mid -level interest in the American Civil War, it manages to capture the overarching aspects. Due to its elegant design and fluid play, I find that it tends to see the table far more than other Civil War games that I own. Another one of my favorite elements is how this game provides a basic game along with the advanced rules that can be added later. This allows beginners to quickly learn the general flow of the game before delving into considerations like supply, movement and command, and the other intensive battlefield aspects. While these advanced elements increase the level of detail and enjoyment for experienced players, they also greatly add to the playing time and are easy to occasionally forget after you have been playing and rolling lots of dice for a couple of hours.