Dave Moss
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hants
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Having played my first game of this the other night, I thought I would write a quick overview on the game. The overall concept is standard 18xx fare - the winner at the end of the game has the most personal wealth (cash in hand + value of shares), and during the course of the game the player with the most shares in an individual company serves as president during its operation, and accordingly makes decisions on laying track, building stations, and running / purchasing trains and dividending (or withholding) the resulting income.

However 1865 does have some new and different approaches that make it an interesting variant on the 18xx system. I am going to focus on some general points regarding the game, and highlight some of those differences. I am still fairly new to the 18xx genre of games, and so hopefully I wont highlight any points as new to this game, that occur in other games. Anyway on with the review...

Components

The game is very well produced, with good quality cardboard used for all the track / shares / trains etc... The wooden tokens used for stations and traffic chips are good as well. The board is very well designed, and in my opinon, well laid out (although I know there has been a sperate debate about the merits of the artwork), and contains areas for all the information the game requires to operate smoothly - it is also very well made - in a solid 3-piece fold out structure.

Tile laying

On each companies operation they get to lay train track, as per standard 18xx rules. For an additional cost, they can lay an additional tile, which enables the company's to expand very quickly across the small islands of Sardinia and Corsica. As there are up to 8 companies operating, it can become quite crowded quickly (however there are ways of dealing with that to be outlined later on).