Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jesse Dean
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Pound for pound, the amoeba is the most vicious predator on Earth!
mbmbmb

Personal Background
I’ve been playing 4X games for over ten years. Granted, I’ve mostly been playing them in video game form, with Civilization taking up the vast bulk of my 4X time, but I believe that my familiarity with the various iterations of Civilization, and my forays into other games in the genre, have given me a pretty good idea of what these sorts of games should be like. Unfortunately, most of the board game 4X-style games have been utter disappointments. Sid Meier’s Civilization the Boardgame and Runewars were interesting during the “figuring it out” phase, but not long after that. Twilight Imperium’s extended play time and seeming need for a large number of players kept me away. And hybrid 4x-euro games ended up not being that interesting.

When I first heard of Space Empires 4X I decided I probably was not going to pre-order it. The main thing that turned me off was the information about how you would track techs using a pen and paper, which seemed hopelessly archaic compared to the use of cards or tiles. As I played and grew disappointed with Runewars and SM’s Civilization: TBG I began to wonder if I was ever going to find a 4X board game that fulfilled my expectations. However, playing them also caused me to grow disenchanted with Fantasy Flight’s billons o’cards model, and Space Empires 4X’s paper and pen no longer seemed problematic for me. As the rulebook and scenario books started to become publically available, I started gaming with some people who liked the 4X genre, and I enjoyed the delight that is Ascending Empires, I started to reconsider my previous decision to skip Space Empires 4X, and ended up putting in my pre-order in June.