Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Lighthouse Beach
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
mbmbmbmbmb
Glory

The Battles of 1st & 2nd Manassas and Chickamauga
Designed by Richard H. Berg
Developed by Gene Billingsley
Published by GMT Games (1995)

In general, I tend not to enjoy tactical wargames. I’m not sure whether I dislike them because I am not very good at them or if I am not very good at them because I dislike them.

At this point I think I should make two things abundantly clear. In the first place I actually really enjoy Glory – it makes me salivate. On that note I should add that were I to give Richard Berg a kiss, it would be done in a very manly way.

Anyway, my preference in wargames is operational and strategic games. I am more interested in fighting wars than fighting battles. There are several reasons for this. I am more interested in the big picture than in fine details. I am not interested in the technology of war – it seems to me that most people who prefer tactical games actually have an interest in things such as muzzle velocity, weapon range, armour penetration and other such minutiae. Also, particularly when looking at simulations of battles the scope and scale of the games has either been very bland (such as in the Blue & Grey system from SPI) or excessively detailed so as to require copious book-keeping and cause headaches (such as the GBOTCW system, also by SPI).

Lo and behold, I recently acquired a copy of Glory III in a trade and was so impressed by it that I went searching for, and was able to purchase, copies of Glory II and Glory.

Glory is a beautifully designed and produced brigade-level simulation of the battles of First Bull Run, Second Bull Run and Chickamauga. The system is truly delightful. All the mechanisms that drive the game are totally believable and intuitive. The battles develop in such a way that the each game creates its own narrative.