Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Timothy Bowden
Australia
Fountaindale
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my first attempt to use the Lost Battles system to refight (solo) a battle not included in the original list of scenarios.

All information used comes from Fred Ray's "Land Battles in 5th Century Greece"(see topic 'For the love of hoplites'for further discussion about this text).

This battle takes place during the Ionian revolt against Persian rule. The combined Ionian force, with some assistance from Athens and Eretria, have attacked Sardis and retreated towards the coast. They were pursued by a large Persian force and turned to fight on a plain near Ephesus.

Using the scale of each figure representing 125 men -

Greeks:
10 x average hoplites representing 5000 Ionians
4 x veteran hoplites representing 1000 Athenians/Eretrians
1 x levy light infantry representing 1000 psiloi
1 x uninspired leader (Melanthios, leader of the Athenians)
Fighting value = 51
The Athenians get veteran status because they were able to retire from the battle and return to their ships. Melanthios is included to help keep them together, and because I like having a leader present.

Persians:
6 average and 2 levy archers representing around 5000 sparabara
4 levy heavy infantry rep. 4000 Mysians
4 average and 2 levy heavy inf rep. 4000 Lydians
4 average and 1 levy heavy cavalry rep. 1600 Persian cavalry
1 uninspired commander (Artaphernes)
Fighting value 63.

Only terrain of note is the River Cayster, running down the left flank side of the board from the Greek's perspective.
Ray estimates a battle line of c1.2 km, thus yielding an attack limit of 3.