Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
20 Posts

Nightfall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Official FAQ Discussion Thread rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some have requested a sort of Change Log for the Official FAQ Geeklist. Instead of having all that info cluttering up the actual geeklist, I've opted to use the forums instead. Subscribe to the Official FAQ Subscription Thread to be alerted whenever something has changed about the FAQ. Feel free to use this thread to discuss these changes.

10/20/11 - Added Official FAQ Subscription and Discussion thread for use as a Change Log of the FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Sjolte
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was just reading about stacking the FAQ and I still don't get it.

Okay, something that modifies do stack - set values don't.

Then in the example say that effect of Sir John Travail don't stack, but Sir John Travail reduces the claim cost by 1 - isn't that to modify?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sir John Travail's entry specifies "Effect Stacking: In Play does stack (modifier). Kicker does not stack (value)". Though the header didn't specify that only his kicker didn't stack, so I've edited that to be more clear. The header now says "Effects that set a value do not stack (in the base game, only "Indigo Six", Leave Me! and Sir John Travail's kicker)".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Sjolte
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, thanks I think that I understand it better now. I want to get it rigth since I am in charge of explaining the rules of Nightfall to my game group and none of us have played it before.

I have seen that you have resonded to many other question here on BoardGameGeek - kudos to you for that .
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zalco wrote:
I have seen that you have resonded to many other question here on BoardGameGeek - kudos to you for that .

Thanks! It's all for the fans cool
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
10/25/11 Editing "Lone Hound" to specify that if you do not have any cards in your hand, nothing is exiled and you still attack with "Lone Hound".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
10/27/11 Added the Flayed Ghoul Promo to the FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Sjolte
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
s3rvant wrote:
Sir John Travail's entry specifies "Effect Stacking: In Play does stack (modifier). Kicker does not stack (value)". Though the header didn't specify that only his kicker didn't stack, so I've edited that to be more clear. The header now says "Effects that set a value do not stack (in the base game, only "Indigo Six", Leave Me! and Sir John Travail's kicker)".


How about if you have more than one og the "Brynna & Taylor" cards in play at the end of your cleanup phase?

Would the rule then state that since it's a value you only get 1 card no matter how many "Brynna & Taylor" cards you have in play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zalco wrote:
Would the rule then state that since it's a value you only get 1 card no matter how many "Brynna & Taylor" cards you have in play?

You are correct, I've clarified this in the FAQ entry:
http://boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/66035/item/1708643#item170...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Sjolte
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
s3rvant wrote:
Effect Stacking
Effects that modify (gain, additional, etc such as Yuri Koroviev) or are an immediate action (like Death Grip) stack.
Effects that set a value do not stack (in the base game, only "Indigo Six", Leave Me! and Sir John Travail's kicker).


I understand what you are getting at with the rules for stacking of effects now, but I think you need to be more specific if you want people to pick it up rigth away - so I have a a couple of suggestions.

You could argue that the kicker effect of "Indigo Six" modifies your influence, so I think it has to be clear that effects modifies something by multiplication don't stack.

The kickers of Leave Me! and Sir John Travail are not immediate actions since they don't have an effect until the follow chain effect, but I think that it needs to be specified in the rules too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zalco wrote:
I think you need to be more specific if you want people to pick it up rigth away

Yes, we've picked up on that from player feedback and are working to word the effects more clearly as we move forward.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leigh Ryan
Australia
Richlands
QLD
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry if this is the wrong thread for it ('FAQ Discussion' was the closest I could find), but is anyone else in the universe having a problem with the printable versions of the FAQ at the moment, or am I missing something obvious?

Every version I click on (of the four main, not the portable version) comes up with this:



Is something other than me b0rked?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LineOf7s wrote:
Is something other than me b0rked?

Yeah... I need to rework the script. Been slacking on that shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leigh Ryan
Australia
Richlands
QLD
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank goodness for that. Saves me trying a(nother) different browser just in case.

So... the printable versions are thus currently unavailable then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LineOf7s wrote:
So... the printable versions are thus currently unavailable then?

Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leigh Ryan
Australia
Richlands
QLD
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sadface.

I shall take solace in knowing It's Not Just Me, and keep an eye out for a change of status.

In the meantime, keep up the good work, and congrats on a great game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LineOf7s wrote:
In the meantime, keep up the good work, and congrats on a great game!

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Graf
Germany
Koblenz
flag msg tools
designer
Help me! I got addicted to MtG again!
badge
Help me! I got addicted to MtG again!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Did you try the Portable Version? Great on smartphones, perhaps also on tablets (don't have one, so I never got to optimizing it for larger screens...)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Printable version has been fixed. I recently moved to a new webhost and didn't think to check if they had enabled the function I need to import the XML for the FAQ...

blush

They got it enabled for me and I've also added all of the images for the Dark Rages cards including the avatars. Enjoy!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gregg
United States
Franklinville
NC
flag msg tools
designer
NightfallGame.com/FAQ
badge
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1234645
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Added a link to download all 7 rulebook PDF's to the header.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.