Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

A Game of Thrones (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about house card special abilities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nevin King
United States
State College
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
The Queen of thorns' special ability reads
"Cancel the special ability of your opponents House Card"
Are the single sword and double sword special abilities?
My group has been playing as though they are not, but I recently became curious as to if that is the true case.
Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Hall
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
No, sword and fort icons are not special abilities. You might like to take a look at the FAQ, available from FFG's web site. It clarifies points such as this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
As far as where to find this in the rules, on p. 14, in the "The House Cards" box, it says, "Some card have a special ability that may trigger during or after the Combat, and other cards have one or more Sword or Fortification icons."

Also on p. 14, under "Step 3: Play House Cards," it says "first resolve any special ability which may apply," and it doesn't talk about the sword & fortification icons until later, when checking for casualties.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls