Subject: Battle of Platea AAR rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
May the Great Spirit Bless all who read this.
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's my solo refight of the Battle of Platea. In my first battle of Platea the Persians managed to get their Light Cavalry (LC) around the rear of the Greek Key Zone. There they caused havoc and denied a vital deployment tile to the Greeks. The Greeks took some time to dislodge this rogue Light Cavalry unit who were instrumental in a decisive Persian victory. I'm refighting the battle to allow the opportunity for Greek revenge. This time they are not going to make the same mistake of being out-flanked and allowing enemy cavalry in their rear. Or maybe they will?

I've made a few errors like deploying one to many Greek units on turn 2 but I don't think they were too crucial. I'm still new to the system so view any other glaring errors or omissions as part of the chaos of battle.

Historical Set up Turn 1

Greek Turn 2 FV=11 Com=1 + 3
Callimachus has sent a courier to the rear ordering Light Infantry (LI) to get onto the field and secure the right flank on the hill. Hoplites deploy behind the Greek key zone ready to support their leader who has opened the battle with an attack that shattered Persian Levy LC.

Persian Turn 2 FV=16 Com=1 + 5
Persian archers reinforce the key zone and take the lead. The Persians decline to attack in the center and deploy more archers in support.

Greek Turn 3 FV=29 Com=2 + 4
The Veteran Greek Hoplites deployed earlier have boosted the fighting value and advance to reinforce the Greek center. Meanwhile the two Veteran Hoplite units already deployed with Callimachus attack but are easily repulsed by the Persian archers. More Hoplites arrive on the field in the center rear and the LI on the right wing advance to secure the right flank.

Persian Turn 3 FV=26 Com=2 + 4