Yeah, this one is crazy. I don't know if you guys saw it, but there were a few clarifications from the designer posted by someone over on the FFG forums.
Ahahaha! I got answers from Rob Kouba himself! Weee
Just wanted to share my questions and answers I got here ... They are all regarding scenario nr. 9.
1. What does the term "to control" exactly mean? Especially in scenario 9. where besides houses there is also a demand for two bridges to be controlled, but have no control tokens on them? Must a unit stand on the bridge all the time for a bridge to be considered controlled (game end)?
As for houses with control tokens, if I am correct, one unit must stop there, token is changed to that unit houses' color and unit can continue its movement next turn, but building is still regarded as controlled by the house(Lannister/Stark) whose unit entered this building previous turn.
a) can a unit retreat into a burning building? (willingly or if forced by black flags and has no optional retreat route)
b) can a hex with a unit standing on it be made to burn/Can a fire level be applied to that hex?
3. Commander Clegane in scenario 9. is a red rank unit. Is that maybe an error? In rulebook page 24 is Gregor the Reaver designated as blue rank unit.
4.Burning down the siege towers/tents. If a fire level is put on one of these, are these destroyed this turn or in this happens Regroup phase?
5. I would also ask for an an explanation of Gregor Clegane The Reaver commit ability which says:
"Flip this card after executing an order to increase the level of all existing fires by 1. Then declare a direction. Spread up to 3 fires by two hexes in the declared direction.
a) area of effect here is commanders' ZOC?
b) if fires spread in a certain direction for two hexes, does this mean that lvl 1 fire levels are placed in these hexes? What if these hexes are plains or hills (no burn effect)?
c)what if units stand in hexes where fire is to be spread?
1) In the case you are talking about in Scenario 9, it refers to having a unit on that particular location so you would have to have a unit on the bridge in question to score at the game's end. You are correct as far as anything marked with a control marker (referred to as controlling objectives on pg. 3 of the Battle Plans).
2) a) No.
b) Yes. This is done usually by a fire spreading onto the hex where the unit is.
3) His rank is red for that scenario.
4) Immediately (like the tent).
5) a) No.
b) Yes. Think of it as the fire spreading once with a level one fire and then that level one fire spreading and causing another level one fire. So if you were spreading a fire adjacent to a river and chose the direction of the river, it would not spread at all. It wouldn't cause a level one fire to sprout up on the other side of the river. Does that make sense? Just so you know though, not having a burn effect does not necessarily mean that the hex does not have the capability to have fire. For example, the 4 after the Burn Threshold for plains means that you can place up to four levels of fire on that particular hex.
c) The fire is placed normally and the unit has the possibility of taking damage in the Regroup Phase.
We played the scenario by using control markers to mark where Stark stood on the bridge, essentially giving them an extra unit.
I wrote up some of my experiences with this scenario in a thread over on the FFG forums. Unfortunately, because we played the control markers wrong, it's not accurate:
I just played this scenario last night, so it was my first time playing with fire. But I think I can answer some of the questions in this thread.
Stark does not start with any objectives being controlled. He must move units onto those objectives in order to control them. For example, I sent my green cavalry unit to the stone bridge immediately to control it. Remember that units do not have to stay on those objectives. They remain controlled until an opponent's unit ends its turn there, at which point you change control markers.
The scoring in this scenario is unusual, but basically Stark accumulates points for controlled objectives at the end of each round and Lannister only gets points at the end of round five, the end of the game.
Lannister either gets 1 point for each burn level of each building or 5 points for each devastated building, not both. Otherwise, it would be insane. They already have 15 points of buildings within fairly easy reach on their side of the board and another 5-10 points not too far away.
Stark gets 2 points for controlling the stone bridge each round and 1 point for controlling the wooden bridge and 1 point for each building. So there is one building that you can occupy pretty much immediately with your archers on the stark side of the river. Then, by round 2 at the latest, you can easily control the wooden bridge. That should give you an easy 3-4 points each round, until Lannister's forward units led by Kevan can take some of it back.
As far as the Reavers and burning. It's important to remember that you cannot set an occupied hex on fire and you can't enter a hex on fire, so the only way to have units burning is if the fire spreads into their hex, either through level 4 fires spreading or through Gregor's "wind" commit ability, which affects the whole board. I believe you can attack units on fire, can't see why not, but you may worry about fires spreading into your hex if you become engaged. Also, it is a viable defense for Stark to occupy buildings and the wooden bridge, as they cannot be burned if they are occupied.
Regarding strategy, you must focus on the Reavers from the beginning or Stark will eat you up with an accumulated 3-5 points per round over the course of 5 rounds.
Overall, I think this is a good scenario and one I would like to try again.