Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
Microbadge: 5 Year Geek VeteranMicrobadge: I game in the Toon!Microbadge: Copper Board Game CollectorMicrobadge: Level 19 BGG posterMicrobadge: Level 20 BGG poster
Simple question, but one that doesn't appear to be covered by FAQ or UFAQ:

If a viper would be shot down by the Pegasus Main Batteries, does Evasive Maneuvers allow a reroll?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerry Smit
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: GHS memberMicrobadge: Battlestar Galactica fanMicrobadge: The Geek Citizenship Recognition Program Rolls On!Microbadge: Firefly: The Game fanMicrobadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level V - My God! It's Full of Stars!
Quote:
Play after any viper is
attacked to reroll the
die. If the viper is
piloted, subtract 2 from
the new roll.
The wording seems to allow it. Thematically, it makes sense, I recall Starbuck getting P.O.d about the flak pattern suddenly appearing around them, and she jinks let hell to ensure she's safe.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
Microbadge: 5 Year Geek VeteranMicrobadge: I game in the Toon!Microbadge: Copper Board Game CollectorMicrobadge: Level 19 BGG posterMicrobadge: Level 20 BGG poster
GerryRailBaron wrote:
Quote:
Play after any viper is
attacked to reroll the
die. If the viper is
piloted, subtract 2 from
the new roll.
The wording seems to allow it. Thematically, it makes sense, I recall Starbuck getting P.O.d about the flak pattern suddenly appearing around them, and she jinks let hell to ensure she's safe.
The issue is that Main Batteries "affects" a sector rather than explicitly targeting a ship or ships - does being damaged count as being attacked?

I recall a semi-recent thread about using a CFB nuke against a sector containing a Basestar with Structural Damage where it was agreed that the nuke roll didn't get +2 since it was the sector not the Basestar getting nuked
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Vollick
Canada
St. Thomas
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Chaos in the Old World fanMicrobadge: Magic: The Gathering playerMicrobadge: Parent of Two Girls and One BoyMicrobadge: Secret Hitler fanMicrobadge: Battlestar Galactica - Play by BGG Forum fan
Agree with Robert.

Main Batteries targets a space sector, if the roll is 2-3 it damages one viper in that sector. You can no more use an EM on that viper being damaged than you could one a crisis that damages vipers in space.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rmsgrey wrote:
Simple question, but one that doesn't appear to be covered by FAQ or UFAQ:

If a viper would be shot down by the Pegasus Main Batteries, does Evasive Maneuvers allow a reroll?
Roughly the same consensus here as well.....
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/467952/flurry-of-questions-p...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls