Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gouvernante de France and Core Presence question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Oliver L.
msg tools
Microbadge: Geek Regular

Hello everyone,

Could someone please help me with the following situation:

In France, the Protestant politically controls Rouen, and Rouen only. 2 spaces in France are Protestant: Rouen and Paris. France plays the Gouvernante de France Event, second option (all conditions apply).

Can the Protestant decide that Rouen converts back to Catholic, and since there must be at least 1 Protestant space in France, Paris stays the same?

Or: is the Protestant forced to convert Paris back to Catholic, and since there must be at least 1 Protestant space in France, is also forced to give up political control of Rouen?

Thanks in advance for your help.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Microbadge: WBC attendeeMicrobadge: Civilization VI fanMicrobadge: Here I Stand fanMicrobadge: Baltimore Orioles fan
The Protestant makes all the decisions with this card, so YES it is legal.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver L.
msg tools
Microbadge: Geek Regular
Thanks Ed!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Ferguson
Ireland
Cork
Cork
flag msg tools
Microbadge: I was here for BGG's Tenth Anniversary!Microbadge: 5 Year Geek VeteranMicrobadge: Copper Board Game CollectorMicrobadge: Level 02 BGG poster
Ed Beach wrote:
The Protestant makes all the decisions with this card, so YES it is legal.
It's clear the Prod makes the decision, sure, but where things get Jesuitical is that this relies on choosing an unflippable space to be flipped is "licit but void", rather than being an impermissible choice in the first place. I'd think this'd be worth a card-FAQ entry...

ETA: this does cast some light on a topic raised in another thread, on the significant distinction between skippable flips and illegal conversion attempts...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls