Subject: First impressions second edition rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Markus
Switzerland
Zürich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my second wargame review; I just started playing/collecting wargames about a year ago, so a lot of what may be considered old stuff is quite new and exciting for me. Additionally, this is my first Bulge game -- please bear this in mind when reading my session report. Initially I wanted a smaller, faster playing game than Battle for Normandy -- I don't play the full campaign -- and when I saw the map art for A44 I was sold I also played some N44 and read A44 is basically the same ruleset, just a bit more complicated.

I preordered the game about 7-8 months ago and it finally got reprinted and shipped to down under. I'm surprised that there are not more reviews about it, because it's really good.

The good stuff

The first thing you will notice is the map. You will get two-fullsized map sheets, printed on paper. And they just look gorgeous, with all the roads connecting villages and towns (with individual houses), rivers crawling along hexes and through dense wooded valleys and so many forests. There are additional designated spaces on the map for your counters, as well as unit badges as decoration.

Next are the counters. They are really thick and well cut. Counter graphics is very crisp and clear -- good GMT quality. Armor units are drawn in silhouettes and the pictures are really good. Some status counters, like 'engaged' are two-sided with an allied and a german side. I though it was a really nice touch as it allows to still know what side the units are on even when under such markers.