Subject: A review (good) from a non political player. 8/10 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
egrek egrek
United Kingdom
Leicester
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So my friend bought this and had a massive game with his friends into politics, history or both. They played it till 3am! (Loving the game, not that it takes too long! They started late)

From talking to him, he brought it around for me to look at, but as I'm neither into politics or history - neither of us expected to play it. But he spoke with such excitement of it I thought I'd give it a try.

And I'm glad I did. It was fun!

I've found from playing a variety of games, the content is important, but the gameplay is better (Agricola is a good example, I'd never think "Oooh I need to play a game where I'm a farmer!" yet it's very indepth and each game is different).

The game is one of strategy and whilst we played the 2 player version (which seems quite anti-republic, as they can’t go into the Lower South region) it was still interesting and I’m told played out very differently to the four player game. The question of the two starting parties is historically bound, so maybe playing with non Republic parties makes the game more even? We’ll try again one time.

Firstly I had no idea of the real events, so I wasn’t skewed to try and replicate them (a method that doesn’t generally work well I’m told). And I had the ability to place support in the Lower South as well as being free to split my support over all of America. This gave me a lot of power. Meanwhile the Republic had 8 cards to my 6, meaning he had more choice (but as he said, it all comes down to getting good cards!)