Ireland
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
WARGAME!
badge
Lines of Battle: Quatre Bras 1815. Brunswick hussar.
mbmbmbmbmb
Here something I've never done before... a design diary for a new digital wargame. Here are the details:

Wargame: It's the invasion of Poland in 1939. Hex and counter style with alternate turns.

Platform: html5 and javascript. Something I'm new to, but... like a challenge. If challenge is to much, will end up Java and Android. Will be free game on whatever platform it comes out on.

Scale: Hex will be 10-20km across. Units will be divisions or, if independent, brigades. Each turn 2 days? Stacking quite high (3+ divisions by strength).

Units: Infantry, cavalry, mechanised, tank. Possibly also parachute/airlanding. Units will have a strength roughly related to the number of infantry battalions in the unit. They will also have up to 6 (?) assets. For armour, these will be types of tanks. Other assets will be artillery, a/cars. An asset will be approximately a battalion of the relevent asset type.

Combat: First a battle of the assets: Defensive artillery, offensive artillery, armour. Then a morale check. Then (if left) defending infantry, then attacking infantry. Then another morale check. Only a single hex can attack at a time (no mass ganging up).

Movement: Likely only 4 movement types: Infantry, cavalry, mechanised, truck(for supply). Unlikely to have ZOC at that scale.

Terrain: Only a few types in Poland. Hexes are clear, rough, mountain, or sea. Forest, swamp and city will be a sub-type within a hex. Hexsides can be river. Roads for movement between hexes.

Supply: Probably by supply units (slow moving and road-bound). Supply expended for moving units. Maybe a supply unit per corps, which all that corps units draw on.

Air/Naval: Highly abstracted - air probably based out of supply units?

Players: Just Germans (and Slovaks) versus Poles. Not going to include the Soviets at this point.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide