Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Seasons» Forums » Rules

Subject: How do you sacrifice a card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jared Parkinson
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a power card says you use its power when you sacrifice a card, how do you sacrifice it? Do you discard the sacrificed card? Or do you just turn it 90degrees and keep it in front of you? That seems to make a difference because it would clog up or free up space for more power cards against your summoning gauge.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sacrificing a card is taking one of your cards on the table and discarding it from play.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Thibodeau
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
senorcoo wrote:
Sacrificing a card is taking one of your cards on the table and discarding it from play.


Oh darn! We were cutting the card in 2 halves before burning it in the fire place... Rules weren't very clear.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Parkinson
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fardoche wrote:
senorcoo wrote:
Sacrificing a card is taking one of your cards on the table and discarding it from play.


Oh darn! We were cutting the card in 2 halves before burning it in the fire place... Rules weren't very clear.


Well usually the vernacular for that action is discard which caused me to wonder if sacrifice meant that you used/sacrificed it but then had to keep it front of you. Otherwise it doesn't seem like much of a sacrifice since, with many cards, doing so gives you the benifit of the bonus and since you dont keep it in front of you it doesn't take up a spot on your summoning gauge. And the card wasn't even worth any possible points at the end of the game if you didn't sacrifice it so why would anyone choose not to sacrifice it. So it makes no sense to not sacrifice it so why do they say 'if you choose to sacrifice this card'
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that wording was chosen because there are cards whereby you can discard from hand. That is where "discard" is used.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Churchill
United Kingdom
Holland on Sea
Essex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I'm struggling to comprehend the exact process of sacrificing a card that has a cog on it.

If for instance you play a card that says sacrifice and it has a cost of say two water do you pay two water to play it into your tableau which immediately activates it or is the cost of two water just to play it into your tableau and then at some point down the line you pay another two water to discard/sacrifice it from your tableu?

If you pay two water to play the card into your tableu and this also sacrifices it at the same time why does it have a cog on it and not a 'one time play' icon?

Now that I'm thinking about this would this scenario equate to every card you play into your tableu i.e. The energy cost on the card is only to play it into your tableu?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You pay the cost and then it sits there until you decide to tap it to sacrifice it. You might not want to sacrifice a card right when you play it, such as the potion that lets you summon a card for free but makes you throw away all your energy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soulblight
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bazmondo123 wrote:
If for instance you play a card that says sacrifice and it has a cost of say two water


Are you talking about Potion of Knowledge?

The energy symbols pictured on a card under its picture at the top of the text box are the cost to play that card from your hand. It doesn't mean anything else other than that.

The gear symbol indicates that at any point on your turn, now or on any of your turns in the future, you turn it sideways and do what it says. This is called activating the card.

Some cards require that you do something after activating it to get some benefit. For instance, Kairn the Destroyer - when you turn that card sideways you have to discard one energy, then you get the benefit of its effect.

After activating Potion of Knowledge, you have to sacrifice it. So you turn it sideways, place it face down in the discard pile, and gain 5 energy of your choice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Churchill
United Kingdom
Holland on Sea
Essex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
senorcoo wrote:
You pay the cost and then it sits there until you decide to tap it to sacrifice it. You might not want to sacrifice a card right when you play it, such as the potion that lets you summon a card for free but makes you throw away all your energy.


Ok so when you tap it you don't pay the energy cost on the card again?

And if that is the case would any card with a cog than can be activated in your tableu be free to tap each turn without having to pay any energy cost depicted on the card?

i.e. Once you pay the energy cost to play a card into your tableu it never costs anymore energy to use the effects of the card even if it is reactivated each turn?

Cheers for your replies guys
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Once it's paid and in the tableau, you don't pay its cost again.

Correct. Like the Dice of Malice. You tap it every turn you use it for free.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.