Subject: A love letter to Mercurius rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Blake Morris
United States
Henrico
Virginia
flag msg tools
This size viola da gamba is like a cello with frets. I started playing at age 48.
mbmbmbmbmb
While I am prone to game crushes, Mercurius has made a very deep impression on me after only five plays. Since the designer has made an excellent introductory video and others have left detailed reviews, I have decided to lay out some general observations and tips in the hope of generating more interest in the game. (I don’t pretend to be expert, just enthusiastic.) First to be noticed is the beautiful artwork, which adds considerable atmosphere. The shield markers for the city chapters’ shares are freely rendered from the actual arms of the cities. (Delft’s is impaled with the blade of a sword, presumably with hammer marks; Amsterdam’s has three St. Andrew’s crosses.) The paintings on the cards are also very attractive. While the 1 and 5 guilder coins are very similar in size and color, I expect there would be no complaints for the color-blind, since everything works by number or symbol. However, the real beauty of the game lies in its mechanisms.