Recommend
150 
 Thumb up
 Hide
87 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4  Next »   | 

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Collected Rulings rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: rules [+] TS [+] faq [+] errata [+] TS_rules_clarifications [+] important [+] [View All]
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EDIT: Current as of March 13, 2008

Someone asked in a different thread for a set of rulings, so here's what I've been able to piece together. In the case of conflicting answers, only the most recent is listed (although links to all applicable rulings are given, for reference).

I've only listed the things that matter to game play. "Replubic" &c. are not listed.

URLs to the posts by Jason or Ananda are given with each entry.

If I've misinterpreted any of those posts, please let me know.

And so...

Map -- Saudi Arabia
The stability number should be highlighted in red. It is a battleground country.
BGG 27-Dec-2005
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/91834

Map -- DEFCON TRACK
Realignment rolls are prohibited in any region where coups are prohibited by DEFCON [8.1.5], although the alternative ("decoupling" realignment rolls from the DEFCON status) is to be listed as a "Designer Optional Rule" in the second printing.
CSW 1168, 4540
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@224.Q3hPbaQkKTg.38@.1dcf...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.IKwTbk452aR.0@.1dcfd...

2.1.5
The USA and the USSR spaces on the map count as controlled countries, when checking for "adjacent controlled countries" (e.g., Brush War)
CSW 8398
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@898.fy90c7lCTeL.0@.1dcfd...

3.3
The U.S. starts with a total of 23 (not 20) Influence markers, including 4 (not 1) in Australia. (and the player aid card should match). Adding in two more in Canada, per the revised rule, that makes the total 25.
CSW 0885, BGG 27-Dec-2005
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.2@.1dcfda...
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/91834

4.5.B
The Soviet player should receive the first card of every deal. The deal should alternate back and forth between the players until they have received their full hand size. A player may receive consecutive cards if they require more cards than their opponent. (The rule for "tournament play" in the revised rulebook, but since a rule is needed for casual play as well, the tournament rule is assumed for that purpose in this document).
CSW 4766
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@779.SgqUbUTK7AS.0@.1dcfd...

4.5.C
If the headline event says to use Ops, the you use those Ops, even though you cannot normally play a card for Ops in the headline phase.
CSW 1954
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.2@.1dcfda6...

4.5.C
If you play an event associated with your opponent, your opponent does not become the phasing player for resolving the event. In all other respects, the event is resolved just as it would be if your opponent had played the card. If DEFCON goes to 1 during your headline event, even if the event is associated with your opponent, you lose.
CSW 0677, 0855, 3114, 3180, 3204, 3212
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@123.nXylbHvqKsU.0@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.6@.1dcfda...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@215.RAK4bDgsSyg.0@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@108.MgpFbTTMTTz.0@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@10.ulKWbBwuTnk.0@.1dcfda...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@10.ulKWbBwuTnk.0@.1dcfda...

4.5.C
You may "play" an event in the headline phase even if the prerequisites for that event have not been met. The event will have no effect in that case (and will not be removed from the game).
CSW 0925, 0944
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.18@.1dcf...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.16@.1dcf...

4.5.D
It is possible to end the turn with more than one held card. You do not discard down to just one -- you simply hold what you have.
BGG 08-Jan-2006
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/757692#757692

4.5.D
A player may perform actions that result in being forced to hold a scoring card. He will lose the game at the end of the turn. If he wins the game prior to the end of the turn, the win stands.
BGG 10-Jan-2006
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/759553#759553

4.5.D
If both players end the turn with Held Scoring cards, then the US player wins.
BGG 11-Apr-2007
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1441910#1441910

5.2
If a player plays a card associated with his opponent for Ops, the Event still occurs either before or after the player uses the Ops, at the player's choice. If he chooses to conduct Ops first, then the Ops are conducted and resolved before applying the event, as stated in 5.2.
CSW 4491
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@237.V05HbGQ11QX.0@.1dcfd...

6.2.1
To attempt a Realignment roll, your opponent must have some Influence in the target country.
CSW 10491
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@457.asIhdje7RMY.0@.1dcfd...

6.4.4.Animal in Space
When a player has advanced to the point in the space race where the player can play two Space Race cards per turn, that doesn't allow the player to split the ops from one card into two Space Race attempts in a single action phase.
BGG 20-May-2007
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1508563#1508563

6.4.4.Space Walk
When a player has advanced to the point in the space race where the player can discard a held card at the end of the turn, he can only discard 1 held card, even if he has more than 1 held card.
CSW 1554
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.38@.1dcf...

6.4.4.Space Walk
When a player has advanced to the point in the space race where the player can discard a held card at the end of the turn, he cannot use that ability to discard a scoring card (since scoring cards cannot be held, by 4.5.D).
CSW 8291
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@776.pTnKcvJnR6Z.0@.1dcfd...

7.4
Modifiers are applied in aggregate, whether they come from different events or from multiple plays of the same event.
CSW 8543
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@525.Uy6WcPmGZGk.0@.1dcfd...

7.4.2
Cards that say they modify the operations value of other cards do so for all purposes when the player for whom the modification applies uses the points (including when the card is played as an event and the event grants the ability to use the Ops from the card).
CSW 9585
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@179.L9uBdseDkqq.0@.1dcfd...

8.2.3 & 8.2.4
Military Ops are capped at 5. If the marker would be moved beyond five, it remains at five.
BGG 24-May-2007
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1515917#1515917

8.2.3 & 8.2.4
Do not move the Military Ops marker by the amount of the Ops value of the event. Just apply the War event's effect (which includes a fixed number to move the marker). The amount of Military Ops gained from War Events is the same even if the Ops value of the War Event is changed.
CSW 1988
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@44.UALybzRfKJc.0@.1dcfda...

10.5.1
Doesn't apply to "Ask Not..."; that effect is allowed to cause the player to hold a scoring card (and subsequently lose the game at the end of the turn).
BGG 29-Mar-2007
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1418493#1418493

Example T1 A6.US Error
US player cannot discard European Unrest to satisfy Blockade because it is worth only 2 Ops, since Red Scare/Purge had been played in T1 1.USSR

Example T1 Check Military Ops Error
After awarding a net of 1 VP to USSR, the balance goes to 1 US VP total, not 1 USSR VP total.

Example T3 Deal Cards Error
US hand lists only 7 cards; he should have 8.

Example T3 Headline Phase Error
Korean War is played, but did not adjust the DEFCON Status. So, the rest of the example is off somewhat, as the DEFCON level should have been 1 lower, prohibiting several actions that occurred subsequently.

Example T3 A4.US Error
When handling the De-Stalinization event, USSR adds influence to Iran and Pakistan instead of MOVING influence.

Example T4 A1.USSR Error
USSR Player plays Lone Gunman as an event. US Player reveals his hand. USSR should conduct Operations with the card normally (per event text), but doesn't.

Example T4 A4.USSR Error
Central American scoring. The example incorrectly states that the US had Presence in Central America. The US player only had 1 Influence Point in Panama. He needed 2 Influence Points to control Panama. Therefore the total victory points is off by 1, it should be USSR 11 here, and increased by one subsequently.

Example T4 A5.USSR Error
The USSR player gets only 2 Ops from Arms Race, since Red Scare/Purge had been played in T4 #1.US

Example T4 A7.USSR Error
The USSR player gets only 4 Ops in Asia from The China Card, since Red Scare/Purge had been played in T4 #1.US

Scoring cards -- Asia Scoring (#1), Europe Scoring (#2), Middle East Scoring (#3), South America Scoring (#35), Central America Scoring (#37), Southeast Asia Scoring (#38)
Scoring cards are operations cards, so can be retrieved by Missile Envy. But they are not affected by Containment or Brezhnev Doctrine.
CSW 8302 (by proxy)
BGG 15-Apr-2007
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@548.8vZacxIoScu.12@.1dcf...
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1447765#1447765

War cards -- Arab-Israeli War (#13), Brush War (#36), Indo-Pakistani War (#24), Iran-Iraq War (#102), Korean War (#11),
May be played even if the opposing player has no influence in the selected country (for a shot at getting VPs).
CSW 0778, 1707
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.14@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.22@.1dcf...

Aldritch Ames (#98)
Any cards held at the end of the turn are no longer "ordered" -- the effect of A.A. doesn't extend into the next turn.
CSW 0809
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.10@.1dcfd...

Aldritch Ames (#98)
If playing the next card in order would cause the US player to hold a scoring card, the order is overridden by the prohibition against holding scoring cards, and the US player must play the scoring card (in sequence if there's more than one; or whatever card is next in the sequence whose play would not cause a scoring card to be held).
CSW 0996 10022
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.10@.1dcf...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@811.ighJdz5LyGe.2@.1dcfd...

Aldritch Ames (#98)
If UN Intervention is among the cards ordered by A.A., then UN Intervention can only be played for Ops (and only when it comes up in the order, of course).
CSW 2155
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@253.GzICbjNLL7H.2@.1dcfd...

Aldritch Ames (#98)
If the US player is under Quagmire and has had his hand ordered by Aldritch Ames, then he must discard the earliest card in the order that satisfies Quagmire each action until the Quagmire is ended (or the order is exhausted). If Quagmire ends before the order is exhausted, the remaining cards must still be played in order.
CSW 2155
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@253.GzICbjNLL7H.2@.1dcfd...

Aldritch Ames (#98)
In a scenario where both Aldritch Ames and Ask Not take place in the headline phase, Ames is fully implemented, then Ask Not is fully implemented. However, so long as the US player chooses to discard his entire hand, he would escape from the ordering required by the implementation of Ames. The China Card play restriction would remain. If the US player kept some cards from the earlier hand, they would have to be played in the order indicated.
CSW 3851
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@187.u1M0bhYvYEU.0@.1dcfd...

Aldritch Ames (#98)
Even if the US player has no cards left to play in his action round, he still cannot play the China Card, by explicit restriction given in Aldritch Ames's text.
CSW 5378
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@407.JO3bcC9wchu.0@.1dcfd...

Arab-Israeli War (#13)
In the Second Edition printing, the die roll gets a -1 modifier if the US controls Israel.

"Ask Not What Your Country Can Do For You..." (#77)
"Ask Not" can lead to the US player holding a Scoring card (if only Scoring cards are drawn). This is allowed (an exception to 10.1.5) and results in a US loss at the end of the turn, as usual for holding scoring cards.
BGG 29-Mar-2007
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1418493#1418493

Asia Scoring (#1)
Scores for all of Asia, including Southeast Asia.
CSW 0857
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.6@.1dcfda...

Bear Trap (#44)
When discarding for the Bear Trap effect, the discard replaces the player's action that round.
CSW 0864, 1121, 1927
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.6@.1dcfda...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@166.YQDob6unKQG.6@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.4@.1dcfda6...

Bear Trap (#44)
The effect repeats until a roll is successful (less than 5) -- not "until successful or no appropriate cards remain". If no appropriate cards remain, the effect still repeats, but you do not discard (since you have nothing appropriate to discard) and so do not roll the die, either. You get no action that action round (unless it is to play a scoring card).
CSW 1122, 1929
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@166.YQDob6unKQG.6@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.4@.1dcfda6...

Bear Trap (#44)
The player may play a scoring card in lieu of a discard (and thefore foregoing the die roll) if discarding would force the player to violate the "May Not Be Held" stipulation of scoring cards.
CSW 1168
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.85@.1dcf...

Brezhnev Doctrine (#51)
Doesn't affect scoring cards, since they are not operations cards.
CSW 8302 (by proxy) http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@548.8vZacxIoScu.12@.1dcf...

Brush War (#36)
Subtract one from the roll for each adjacent enemy controlled country.
CSW 1169
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@149.xfjLbBwjMIM.2@.1dcfd...

Captured Nazi Scientist (#18)
Event cards that modify a player's marker on the space race do not count against that player's space race attempts.
CSW 0995
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.12@.1dcf...

Chernobyl (#94)
The USSR player may still add influence markers via Coup attempts. Only "Marker Placement" as described in 6.1 is restricted.
BGG 21-Jan-2006
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/775531#775531

China Card (#6)
If it is face down when stolen by an event, it is turned face up. [9.4]
CSW 1865
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.8@.1dcfd...

CIA Created (#26)
If played by the USSR for Ops, the US player conducts Operations using the Operations value the card would have had if the US player had played it, without regard to the Operations value the USSR received for it.
CSW 1946
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.2@.1dcfda6...

Containment (#25)
Doesn't affect scoring cards, since they are not operations cards.
CSW 8302 (by proxy) http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@548.8vZacxIoScu.12@.1dcf...

Cuban Missile Crisis (#40)
Should not be underlined. The card does not have effects that carry beyond the current turn.
BGG 27-Dec-2005
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/91834

Cuban Missile Crisis (#40)
"Germany" in card text refers only to West Germany.
CSW 2159
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@200.GyA3br3dLFz.0@.1dcfd...

Cuban Missile Crisis (#40)
If Cuban Missile Crisis is in effect and the US player makes a coup when the USSR is the phasing player and the coup would reduce DEFCON to one, the US player loses (attempting the coup causes him to lose before the reduction of DEFCON can cause the phasing player to lose).
CSW 7754
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@871.BWdIcRruLLS.0@.1dcfd...

Defectors (#103)
If the US plays Defectors as his headline event, it will cancel the USSR headline event no matter what Ops value the USSR headline card has.
CSW 4492
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@237.V05HbGQ11QX.0@.1dcfd...

Defectors (#103)
US does not gain a VP when the USSR player discards Defectors during the US action round.
CSW 2490
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@34.y7vnbQ8aO5P.4@.1dcfda...

Defectors (#103)
US does not gain a VP when the USSR player uses Defectors on a Space Race attempt.
CSW 1022 1552 4490
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.8@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.38@.1dcf...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@237.V05HbGQ11QX.0@.1dcfd...

Defectors (#103)
Is not removed from play when played.
CSW 0778, BGG 27-Dec-2005
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.14@.1dcfd...
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/91834

Europe Scoring (#2)
Scores for all of Europe: both Eastern Europe and Western Europe.
CSW 0857
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.6@.1dcfda...

Flower Power (#59)
The USSR player gets 2VP when the US player plays a war event for operations or for the event, unless the event portion would have been canceled by another effect, even an earlier-played one (like Camp David).
CSW 0957 0959
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.14@.1dcf...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.14@.1dcf...

Formosan Resolution (#101)
Counts in final scoring as well, as indicated in 10.3.2 of the rules.
CSW 8142
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@98.XkFcci4FPdN.0@.1dcfda...

Formosan Resolution (#101)
Is discarded the next time the US player plays the China card. It doesn't "look back" to see if the US player has ever played the China card.
CSW 1979
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.0@.1dcfda6...

Grain Sales to Soviets (#67)
The US player may "use this card to Conduct Operations normally" if the USSR player has no cards in his hand, even though there is therefore no card to return. (Assuming the Grain Sales was the USSR player's last card and he played it for Ops).
CSW 1116
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@166.YQDob6unKQG.6@.1dcfd...

Junta (#47)
The player may make multiple Realignment rolls -- as many as he has Ops for (3, typically).
CSW 1675
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.26@.1dcf...

Junta (#47)
The player must place influence first, THEN make a coup attempt or realignment roll(s).
CSW 2272
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@200.58YsbAN0Lsd.225805@....

Korean War (#11)
In the Second Edition printing, the DEFCON reduction is removed, like the other war cards.

Latin American Death Squads (#69)
Doesn't affected the opponent's Coup attempts outside of Central and South America.
BGG 08-Mar-2006
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/102502#832346

Lone Gunman (#62)
If played by the US for Ops, the USSR player conducts Operations using the Operations value the card would have had if the USSR player had played it, without regard to the Operations value the US received for it.
CSW 1946
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.2@.1dcfda6...

Marshall Plan (#23)
Title should be underlined as this card has the lasting game affect of allowing play of NATO.
BGG 27-Dec-2005
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/91834

Missile Envy (#49)
If the recipient of Missile Envy would be forced into holding a scoring card by the requirement to play Missile Envy for Ops, then he may play the scoring card instead.
CSW 0996
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.10@.1dcf...

Missile Envy (#49)
After giving your opponent the Missile Envy card (in exchange for one of his cards), the opponent only "must" use the card for Operations during his next action round if he still has the card and he is allowed to play cards for Operations. For example, if he is under a Bear Trap or Quagmire, he is free to discard the Missile Envy card for the Bear Trap or Quagmire effect.
CSW 1927
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.4@.1dcfda6...

Missile Envy (#49)
Missile Envy goes into the opponent's hand before resolving the event on the exchanged card. So if the USA player play Missile Envy and receives Grain Sales in return, for example, the Missile Envy card will be in the USSR hand when selecting a random card to discard.
CSW 5379
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@407.JO3bcC9wchu.0@.1dcfd...

Missile Envy (#49)
After giving your opponent the Missile Envy card (in exchange for one of his cards), if he cannot play the card for Ops (under a Bear Trap or Quagmire, for example), he must discard that card at his earliest opportunity.
CSW 1927 7188
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.4@.1dcfda6...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@683.Pfgac03qG3J.0@.1dcfd...

Missile Envy (#49)
If you play Missile Envy and the card you retrieve from your opponent's hand is your own card and the event is unplayable (because of some other event like North Sea Oil or Camp David Accords, for example), then you get nothing out of Missile Envy (the retrieved card is simply discarded).
CSW 3829
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@191.sSXzb4WQYP0.0@.1dcfd...

Missile Envy (#49)
If you play Missile Envy and pull an event whose effect includes a conditional part which is not met, like Wargames when DEFCON greater than 2, then the conditional part of the effect isn't applied when resolving the effect, as usual.
CSW 3852 (Situation Normal: Ambiguous For Us, so I've applied a previous ruling from Jason on Wargames to resolve --lsj)
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@187.u1M0bhYvYEU.0@.1dcfd...

NATO (#21)
In the Second Edition printing, playing NATO prohibits the Brush War (#36) event from being used on US-controlled European countries.

North Sea Oil (#86)
If the US has won the space race and plays North Sea Oil, he still gets 8 actions (not 9) this turn.
CSW 0830
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.8@.1dcfda...

Nuclear Subs (#41)
Only US Ops (e.g., spending Ops for coup attempts) are exempt from affecting the DEFCON track. Other US actions, specifically effects of events, affect the DEFCON track normally. (Cuban Missile Crisis is noted explicitly in card text as not affected -- that should read "does not affect any event that would affect the DEFCON track").
CSW 0916, 1973
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.0@.1dcfda6...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.18@.1dcf...

One Small Step... (#80)
Event cards that modify a player's marker on the space race do not count against that player's space race attempts.
CSW 0995
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.12@.1dcf...

One Small Step... (#80)
The only difference between using One Small Step... to move two spaces on the space track and using two successful Space Race attempts as normal comes when the first space gained would grant VPs. In that case, the only difference is that the VPs of that first space are not gained when using One Small Step...
CSW 7267 7269
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@736.n7XlcGY2GIV.2@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@736.n7XlcGY2GIV.2@.1dcfd...

Quagmire (#42)
When discarding for the Quagmire effect, the discard replaces the player's action that round.
CSW 0864, 1121, 1927
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.6@.1dcfda...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@166.YQDob6unKQG.6@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.4@.1dcfda6...

Quagmire (#42)
The effect repeats until a roll is successful (less than 5) -- not "until successful or no appropriate cards remain". If no appropriate cards remain, the effect still repeats, but you do not discard (since you have nothing appropriate to discard) and so do not roll the die, either. You get no action that action round (unless it is to play a scoring card).
CSW 1122, 1929
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@166.YQDob6unKQG.6@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.4@.1dcfda6...

Quagmire (#42)
The player may play a scoring card in lieu of a discard (and therefore foregoing the die roll) if discarding would force the player to violate the "May Not Be Held" stipulation of scoring cards.
CSW 1168
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.85@.1dcf...

Red Scare/Purge (#31)
In the Second Edition printing, this card's Operations Value is 4 (rather than 2 as in the First Edition).

Red Scare/Purge (#31)
If played twice in the same turn (thanks to SALT Negotiations or Star Wars, for example), the effect is cumulative.
CSW 8543
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@525.Uy6WcPmGZGk.0@.1dcfd...

Scoring Summary (#104)
The description of "Domination" of a region is incomplete. You are required to have more countries AND MORE BATTLEGROUND COUNTRIES to dominate a region. [10.1]
CSW 0861, BGG 27-Dec-2005
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.6@.1dcfda...
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/91834

Shuttle Diplomacy (#73)
Doesn't affect final scoring.
CSW 0809, 1116
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.10@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@166.YQDob6unKQG.6@.1dcfd...

Shuttle Diplomacy (#73)
Doesn't affect SE Asia Scoring. It only affects Asia Scoring and Mideast Scoring, as it says.
CSW 3335
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@137.KflfbifFUou.0@.1dcfd...

Shuttle Diplomacy (#73)
Temporarily "removes" the Battleground country entirely from the equation. (Except, as per later ruling, for being counted among the number of battleground countries.)
CSW 3162
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@240.F6FKb3BISrO.0@.1dcfd...

Shuttle Diplomacy (#73)
The US player chooses which country is removed. But it does not remove the Battleground country entirely from the equation -- the USSR cannot Control the Region. (so maybe it Shuttle Diplomacy just treats the country as uncontrolled by either Superpower -lsj)
CSW 3168
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@234.W9xYbWXNSge.14@.1dcf...

Summit (#45)
Ties have no effect. Do not re-roll for ties.
CSW 0916
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.18@.1dcf...

Tear Down This Wall (#96)
The coup attempt or realignment attempts in Europe can be made even if the DEFCON level prohibits coup attempts and realignments in Europe. If the coup attempt is made in a battleground country, though, DEFCON will be degraded as normal.
CSW 1555
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.38@.1dcf...

Terrorism (#92)
Is only doubled after Iranian Hostage Crisis when played against the US player.
CSW 0927, 1557
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.18@.1dcf...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.38@.1dcf...

Truman Doctrine (#19)
"Uncontrolled" means not controlled by either player.
CSW 8808
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@384.Xq5gcJys7Jx.0@.1dcfd...

U2 Incident (#60)
The USSR player would gain a VP if either player plays UN Intervention later in the turn.
CSW 0916
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@158.kVChbRa1KB8.18@.1dcf...

UN Intervention (#32)
REVERSAL: CANNOT be played on its own as an event (without simultaneously playing an a card that has your opponent's associated event, which would be useful to meet We Will Bury You or U2 Incident).
CSW 0778, 1698, 5209
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@99.5X2zbgpKKkH.14@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.24@.1dcf...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@424.bns4cl4YaP5.2@.1dcfd...

UN Intervention (#32)
UN Intervention may not be played in the headline phase. This ruling is explicitly stated in the Second Edition printing of the card.
CSW 5165
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@239.4yWlbLwqbt0.0@.1dcfd...

Wargames (#100)
If Wargames ends the game, there is no "final scoring round".
CSW 1120, 1512
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@166.YQDob6unKQG.6@.1dcfd...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@109.6BenbubaKKe.45@.1dcf...

Wargames (#100)
The event cannot be applied when DEFCON is greater than 2. Treat the "If" as a prerequisite for the event.
CSW 3055, 4155
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@245.m4jFbagcRpO.13@.1dcf...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@2.yhbmbYef1On.0@.1dcfda6...

Wargames (#100)
"May" means it is optional. If DEFCON is 2, you may choose not to give your opponent 6 VPs and end the game. Because the event was still applied, however, the card is still removed from the game (as opposed to the case when the "if" prerequisite isn't met).
CSW 8596
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@232.LLglc92V0Rq.0@.1dcfd...

"We Will Bury You" (#50)
The 3VP is awarded as soon as it is clear that the US player will not play UN as an event the scoring takes place. (so the 3 VP would be awarded before the US player's event, unless that event could possibly lead to the play of UN Intervention).
CSW 6679, BGG 07-Dec-2006
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@235.dJH8cJJbxEc.10@.1dcf...
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1212664#1212664
51 
 Thumb up
8.60
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Breshnev Doctrine (#51)
Affects the Ops value of all cards associated only with the USSR player (no matter who plays the card), and not "cards the USSR player plays".
CSW 1946


This answer is misleading, as the word "associated" is used in the rules to describe who gets to play an event, not a card. And Breshnev Doctrine does effect all cards played by the USSR when they are played for Ops.

I have not reviewed all of your list, so there may be others. This one stood out immediately.

In general, there has already been announced a pending "official" FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AllenDoum wrote:
Quote:
Breshnev Doctrine (#51)
Affects the Ops value of all cards associated only with the USSR player (no matter who plays the card), and not "cards the USSR player plays".
CSW 1946


This answer is misleading, as the word "associated" is used in the rules to describe who gets to play an event, not a card. And Breshnev Doctrine does effect all cards played by the USSR when they are played for Ops.


I was using the usage from 2.2.2 of the rules:
"Cards with a Red star only are associated with the USSR"

Anyway, the linked post (CSW 1946) says that the USSR gets the modified Ops of the card the US player plays. Which indicated (to me, apparently incorrectly) that the Breshnev Doctrine effect targets Associated cards, not cards played by the USSR player (in contrast to Red Scare/Purge, which is worded differently).

So you're saying that it means rather that Lone Gunman and CIA Created "Conduct Operations" when played by the un-associated player give the associated player the Ops that he would have had if he had played it rathern than the Ops the card has as played?

OK. I'll update the entries.

Quote:
I have not reviewed all of your list, so there may be others. This one stood out immediately.


Thanks. That's what the links are for -- in case I misread something.

Quote:
In general, there has already been announced a pending "official" FAQ.


OK. That's what the links are for, too -- to show the official statements.

This is just a collection of rulings, not a FAQ.
I doubt if many of these have been "frequently" asked.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Creve Coeur
MO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
now i'm scared to buy this blush
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't be. Most of these rulings are just clarifications that follow easily from card and/or rule text, or are rulings that one could guess at anyway.

And there's nothing that says you can't play the game without knowing these rulings -- you can just play -- it plays quite well right out of the box.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't be.

For the most part, these are just clarifications and the like. The game is really pretty simple. This just shows what rules lawyers we all are!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Goss
United States
Lindsborg
Kansas
flag msg tools
Man, most of this eratta/Q&A should have been corrected in pre-prodution.
Another shoddy GMT product rushed out the door to soon.
Frankly, I'd wait for a second edition, if this game ever qualifies for one.
Pick up a copy of VG's 'Cold War' while you wait.....
Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Hope
United States
Woodside
California
flag msg tools
badge
Likes: Mountains, Tundra Turn-offs: Serpents, Marsh
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Most of these are clarifications of odd corners of the rules...It's largely unavoidable when you have decks of cards like these in a game, I think.

I DO wish that they could have gotten the rulebook and map problems right, but oh well...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Dieringer
United States
Schenectady
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
astroglide wrote:
now i'm scared to buy this blush


I wouldn;t be, I would say that 90% of the questions above are pretty straight forward.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulemonger wrote:
AllenDoum wrote:
Quote:
Breshnev Doctrine (#51)
Affects the Ops value of all cards associated only with the USSR player (no matter who plays the card), and not "cards the USSR player plays".
CSW 1946


This answer is misleading, as the word "associated" is used in the rules to describe who gets to play an event, not a card. And Breshnev Doctrine does effect all cards played by the USSR when they are played for Ops.


I was using the usage from 2.2.2 of the rules:
"Cards with a Red star only are associated with the USSR"

Anyway, the linked post (CSW 1946) says that the USSR gets the modified Ops of the card the US player plays. Which indicated (to me, apparently incorrectly) that the Breshnev Doctrine effect targets Associated cards, not cards played by the USSR player (in contrast to Red Scare/Purge, which is worded differently).

So you're saying that it means rather that Lone Gunman and CIA Created "Conduct Operations" when played by the un-associated player give the associated player the Ops that he would have had if he had played it rathern than the Ops the card has as played?


It would help if you were more careful using the words "card" and "event". Your original rulling infered that Breshnev Doctrine did not effect cards played by the USSR for Ops, when in fact, that is the main effect of the card. Whether it would effect the Ops from the Lone Gunman event is the special case that the link cited was answering.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AllenDoum wrote:
It would help if you were more careful using the words "card" and "event". Your original rulling infered that Breshnev Doctrine did not effect cards played by the USSR for Ops, when in fact, that is the main effect of the card. Whether it would effect the Ops from the Lone Gunman event is the special case that the link cited was answering.


Um?

I am careful with the words "card" "event" "action" &c.
The words I chose were exactly the words I intended.

Either Breshnev affects cards played by USSR or it affects cards associated with USSR.

The ruling cited indicated (to me, apparently incorrectly) that it was the latter. That, though it seemed odd to me, is no odder than some other rulings, and is at least somewhat supportable by the card text, noting the differences between that card's text and, say, Red Scare/Purge. And I was trying not to let "seems odd to me" affect the contents of the list.

The ruling didn't indicate which card it was ruling on -- it could be ruling either that B.D. affected USSR associated events regardless of player or that Lone Gunman's event provided Ops unrelated to the Ops the card play itself provided (when played by the US player).

In the absence of a ruling from Jason to the contrary, I'll assume your reading of that ruling is correct. With thanks for pointing it out.

I had originally had both interpretations in my list with the intent of asking for clarification here, but since my other questions of late have gone unanswered for some reason, I figured I'd have to make do with a best guess. Apologies for riling your feathers for not intuiting which meaning Jason intended, even after re-reading that ruling to discern exactly that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording of the bullet point in 2.2.2 is unfortunate, but the rule itself, and the statement after the bullet points makes it clear (to me anyway) that it is the events, not the cards that are "associated". So does the wording of 5.2, which is the section of the rules covering the playing of an event associated with the opponent.

In both your original post on this thread, and in your most recent response, you used "associated" as applying to cards. That is misleading. That was what I was commenting on.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, you find the rulebook's usage to be misleading. I understand now.

I find the rules usage to be adequately clear, at least with respect to cards associated with a given player. Not unfortunate at all.

Unless there's some other rule or card text that makes that usage problematic. Is there?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulemonger wrote:
Ah, you find the rulebook's usage to be misleading. I understand now.

I find the rules usage to be adequately clear, at least with respect to cards associated with a given player. Not unfortunate at all.

Unless there's some other rule or card text that makes that usage problematic. Is there?


Since you seem to delite in quoting me out of context, I will stop providing you with material.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivano Rosa
Italy
Ferentino
Frosinone
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Errata?

CUBAN MISSILE CRISIS "....or the US player removes 2 inluences from Germany or Turkey."
West Germany?


EXAMPLE OF PLAY

TURN 1
US 2: VP +2
USSR 4 : VP 0
US 4 : VP +2
Check Military Operation Status: DEFCON 4, USSR Military OPs = 3, US Military Ops = 2. Balance goes to 1 USSR total.
1 US ?

TURN 3
Deal Cards
US with only 7 cards

TURN 4
USSR 1: Lone Gunman(US Player revealshis hand. Conduct Operations with this card normally)
USSR forgot to use 1 Ops?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LordYupa wrote:
Errata?

CUBAN MISSILE CRISIS "....or the US player removes 2 inluences from Germany or Turkey."
West Germany?



I don't know -- if you have a link to an official ruling, let me know and I'll update the collection above.

As is, I guess it just means either Germany.

This thread probably isn't the place to bring up new rules/card questions -- they'd be better placed in their own threads (with proper subject lines).

Quote:

EXAMPLE OF PLAY

TURN 1
US 2: VP +2
USSR 4 : VP 0
US 4 : VP +2
Check Military Operation Status: DEFCON 4, USSR Military OPs = 3, US Military Ops = 2. Balance goes to 1 USSR total.
1 US ?

TURN 3
Deal Cards
US with only 7 cards

TURN 4
USSR 1: Lone Gunman(US Player revealshis hand. Conduct Operations with this card normally)
USSR forgot to use 1 Ops?


Thanks -- I'll edit these in above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivano Rosa
Italy
Ferentino
Frosinone
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Rulemonger wrote:
LordYupa wrote:
Errata?

CUBAN MISSILE CRISIS "....or the US player removes 2 inluences from Germany or Turkey."
West Germany?



I don't know -- if you have a link to an official ruling, let me know and I'll update the collection above.

As is, I guess it just means either Germany.

This thread probably isn't the place to bring up new rules/card questions -- they'd be better placed in their own threads (with proper subject lines).

Quote:

EXAMPLE OF PLAY

TURN 1
US 2: VP +2
USSR 4 : VP 0
US 4 : VP +2
Check Military Operation Status: DEFCON 4, USSR Military OPs = 3, US Military Ops = 2. Balance goes to 1 USSR total.
1 US ?

TURN 3
Deal Cards
US with only 7 cards

TURN 4
USSR 1: Lone Gunman(US Player revealshis hand. Conduct Operations with this card normally)
USSR forgot to use 1 Ops?


Thanks -- I'll edit these in above.


I'm not sure.
Try it before.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Wilson
United States
Carsoin
California
flag msg tools
usa_patriot wrote:
Man, most of this eratta/Q&A should have been corrected in pre-prodution.
Another shoddy GMT product rushed out the door to soon.
Frankly, I'd wait for a second edition, if this game ever qualifies for one.
Pick up a copy of VG's 'Cold War' while you wait.....
Mark


Mark,

While I agree that this product has some embarrassing errors,(Republic spelled incorrectly on map stands out as the most glaring) your prejudice is showing. You have never even played the game, yet refer to it as a shoddy GMT product. Believe me, most of the questions and clarifications asked stem from rarely seen card combinations that have turned up as well as players who are bent on doing someting "dirty" to an opposing player and are seeking rule loopholes.

If you don't at least find someone with a copy and play this game, you are missing out on a wonderful game.

I agree that GMT is pushing its products out the door a little too fast, but to dismiss it as a shoddy product without ever playing it is like declaring some movie that you have not seen is low proudction quality movie without ever seeing it for yourself. Such ignorant criticism (meaning speaking without first-hand knowledge of the product) can only seem biased in one way or another. I don't know you, but it seems like you might have an axe to grind.


David "the preacher" Wilson
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivano Rosa
Italy
Ferentino
Frosinone
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Rulemonger wrote:
LordYupa wrote:
Errata?

CUBAN MISSILE CRISIS "....or the US player removes 2 inluences from Germany or Turkey."
West Germany?



I don't know -- if you have a link to an official ruling, let me know and I'll update the collection above.

As is, I guess it just means either Germany.

This thread probably isn't the place to bring up new rules/card questions -- they'd be better placed in their own threads (with proper subject lines).




http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@200.GyA3br3dLFz.0@.1dcfd...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Collection updated with that link.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivano Rosa
Italy
Ferentino
Frosinone
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Clarification for JUNTA


http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@200.58YsbAN0Lsd.225805@....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the link.

Collection updated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Homer S.
Germany
Dortmund
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry but "CIA created" was not regarded in CSW 1946, as I read it right. So I´m still waiting for an official statement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivano Rosa
Italy
Ferentino
Frosinone
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
BRUSH WAR

http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@149.xfjLbBwjMIM.2@.1dcfd...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mr. Simpson wrote:
Sorry but "CIA created" was not regarded in CSW 1946, as I read it right. So I´m still waiting for an official statement.


CIA Created exactly mirrors Lone Gunman, so any ruling on one will apply to the other.

You're welcome to wait for an official answer, of course, but since no one has asked the question, it might take some time for the answer you seek to come.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.