Article Edit | History | Editors

(Unoffical) Tainted Grail FAQ RSS Feed

NOTE: We're no longer updating this Wiki entry; it's being replaced by https://taintedgrailfaq.miraheze.org/wiki/Main_Page. The forum version will still be updated.

This is an FAQ for all Tainted Grail related questions. Although we make every effort to ensure the items below are clear and free of errors, it's possible that we may have something wrong. Please provide us feedback, ask questions, or let us know if there are areas which are unclear.

You can send a direct message to either one of us:

toeknee n
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Rahdo Runs Through fanMicrobadge: Gloomhaven fanMicrobadge: Shadowrun: Crossfire fan - It's all about the nuyenMicrobadge: Aeon's End fanMicrobadge: Spirit Island fan - Slow Action

Elias Hartmark
Norway
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Tainted Grail fanMicrobadge: I print my own components.Microbadge: I've played games in NorwayMicrobadge: Silver Image UploaderMicrobadge: Level 02 BGG poster

or, post in the unofficial FAQ forum: Unofficial FAQ Forum

Also, feel free to use the forum for rules discussions. Whenever we make significant edits to the FAQ, we'll post a changelog in the forum, so subscribe to it to get updates when that happens.

Our main sources for the rule clarifications are from discussions with Marcin and/or Krzysztof, the official FAQ, and the official rulebook. Thank you to Marcin and Krzysztof for their continued willingness to answer questions we've sent them.

Rules Video

Paul Grogan of "Gaming Rules!" will be making the official how to play videos for Tainted Grail. So far, he has a walkthrough of the tutorial which is 4 pages long and designed as a solo play with Beor. It steps through the setup, travel, location actions, few turns of combat, few turns of diplomacy, etc. All steps are printed, so you learn by following the directions (for instance, it'll tell you which cards to play and when during the combat/diplomacy encounters). There are no spoilers for the main storyline campaign in the tutorial: Tutorial

Full rules video will be available at a later time (estimated early 2020).

FAQ Search Tips

When searching the FAQ, look through the Table of Contents, but also try searching the page for keywords related to your question as it may show up in different areas. You can search for text by using Crtl f or Command f.

User: EliasH


Recently Added

For this section, we'll list the major and recent items we added to the FAQ. They will also be organized and incorporated below.
November 24 - Awaiting confirmation of about 10 items; will post when those become available.

start of the day

Q: Do Time Tokens persist on Locations when a Menhir goes away and the Location card was removed? If the Menhir is activated again, do you place the return the Time Token back to the Location? And if so, how do you keep track of this?

A: When you discard the Location, everything that was on it is also discarded, including Time Tokens, Guardians, items of deceased Characters, and any other markers. Only Characters have a special rule that moves them out of the discarded Location.

Niamh

Q: Am I missing a double layered character board for Niamh?

A: No. Niamh can be used with any of the archetypes which is why she is ment to be slotted into one of the other double layered boards.

Story event cards

Q: On page 3 in the rulebook it says there should be 70 story event cards (in addition to the 22 random event cards). I have the 22 random events, but only 53 story events. Is this just a misprint in the rules, or am I missing cards?

A: The 70 story events card count includes the 17 chapter setup cards

Items

Q: If multiple items and card abilities apply, is there a specific order to resolve the effects. Enemy attacks for 2 damage, I have improvised armor (-1 damage, but not to 0) and Battle Cry (-1 damage) in play. Can I first use the armor to reduce the damage to 1 and then use Battle Cry to negate the last damage?

A: We always assume players will resolve any effects in the order they are listed in (for example: Key orders or Enemy Attack effects) .
If some things trigger exactly in the same moment (like two damage prevention effects kicking in at the same time), players are free to choose any order – usually the one that would benefit them most. For example, you may resolve the Improvised Armor (-1 damage, but not to 0) before Battle Cry (-1 damage) to reduce 2 Damage to 0.

Enemy response

Q: When the enemy attack includes removing the last card in the sequence, do the abilities on the card happen before the card is removed? Or are the effects of the card canceled? For instance, suppose the last card in the sequence said "[On enemy action], prevent 2 damage." When the enemy attacks, part of its action discards the last card. Does the card ability still activate (preventing 2 damage) before being removed?

A: This is the reason why the “discard” icon is always last on the list of Attack results of the Encounter card. You apply all effects in the order they are listed in. This means, the Encounter will deal Damage first (triggering any preventing effects) and only then the card in the Sequence will be destroyed.

Allmother’s Mercy (page 13)

Q: Why does the Chapter 1 notes say “Restart the Campaign”?

A: This literally means “Restart the Campaign”, as there’s no point in doing a partial restart in the very first Chapter. Players have to go back to the Setup (pages 6 and 7 of the Rulebook) and set up a brand new Campaign.

Q: Chapter 2 and beyond: If you lose a point in an Attribute (later chapters) do you have to lose skill cards first?

A: Yes. As mentioned In the “Buying Skills” section of the Rulebook (page 12), each Skill card also represents another point of the Attribute. If your Aggression is 3 (two markers in Aggression slots + a skill card with third Aggression point) and you lose a point of Aggression, you need to remove this skill card.

Encounter rules, icons, triggers and effects (page 15-16)

Q: When drawing a green encounter, Beautiful weather allows you to draw to and pick the one with the lowest value. The traveling merchant has no value printed. Is it's value 0 for the purposes of this check?

A: Yes. No Value has the same meaning as zero value. Cards that do not trigger actual Combat have no value to reinforce the fact players cannot fight them.


Errata

[IMPORTANT] Below are some mistakes in the book of secrets that have been addressed in the official FAQ:

Mistakes in: Book of Secrets
Verse 174
The second narrative section in this verse should read: "The Fore-dwellers have been gone from Avalon for six hundred years! The fact that one of them appeared here is the worst omen you could have possibly imagined."
Verse 520
The second choice in this verse should read: "Change your mind and attempt to draw the sword" – pick a character who will attempt this and place a quest token on their character tray to mark your choice. Go to verse 508.
Verse 643
"Secret E (316)" should instead read: "Verse 316", and "Secret A (521)" should instead read: "Verse 521."

[IMPORTANT] Below are some mistakes in the journal that have been addressed in the official FAQ:

Mistakes in: Journal
Location 112
Verse 3
The correct ranges for this table are: 0-1, 2, 3-4, 5+
Location 136
Verse 4
The narrative section in this verse was accidentally doubled. Ignore the first narrative paragraph. [Comment from us: BGG user picklethehutt pointed out that these paragraphs aren't exactly identical. It was suggested that the "midget" in the second paragraph may need to be replaced by the "master."]
Location 140
Verse 1
The narrative section in this verse comes from another verse and should be ignored. Verse 1 shouldn’t contain any narrative.
Location 140
Verse 11
The second paragraph starting with “CONGRATULATIONS!” was accidentally doubled and should be ignored.
Location 142
Verse 5
Party members should only gain the exp and food reward if they didn’t already have statuses granted by this Verse.
Location 153
Verse 2
The correct ranges for this table are: 1-3, 4-5, 6-7, 8+
Location 190
Verse 17
This verse should not remove the Tainted Grail from your inventory!

[IMPORTANT] Below is a mistake in the rulebook that has been addressed in the official FAQ:

Mistakes in the: Rulebook
Page 19
The “clear activations” step is missing from phase III of the diplomacy overview. It should read:
Clear activations: Remove all time tokens from the character trays. This does not affect any time tokens left on the combat
cards!


Combat Card Errata

  • Withering is misspelled in "Rite of Whitering" (h not in the correct place).


Diplomacy Card Errata

  • Bizarre Methods is missing an [on placement] icon.
  • Bizarre is misspelled in "Bizzare Methods" (extra "z").
  • Insight is misspelled in "Flash of Inisight" (extra "i").

Item Card Errata

  • "Third Eye" is a consumable, which is to be discarded immediately after use.


General components

Book of secrets


Journal

Q: While reading the journal, are you allowed to see the "costs" (energy, stat check, reputation, etc.) of the different choices?

A: All results that are intended to be secret will be hidden behind redirections to different verses or entries in the Book of Secrets. In addition; when playing in a party it is recommended to have a player be the "chronicler" who will read/retell what the journal says. In this case one could withhold information about the consequences for extra immersion, but you don't need to. There will also be a “How to Use the Exploration Journal” entry in the journal to help you learn how to use it.


Q: My party reached a journal choice or redirection that says: “If you’re Ailei...” Are we allowed to proceed even if Ailei is one of several party members? (official FAQ)

A: Yes! As mentioned in the “How to Use the Exploration Journal,” it is always enough for one party member to meet the requirements in order to unlock the choice for the entire party. This also applies to character-specific choices.


Q: My party reached a journal entry that says, “Gain 1 Wealth”. Do we all get one? If not, who gets it? (official FAQ)

A: As explained in “How to Use Exploration Journal” section (found in the journal), the party receives 1 point of wealth and has to assign it to one party member. All scalable rewards use the “each Party member gains” wording instead. Please keep in mind that many rewards are static and need to be shared – after all, an amount of gold in a chest won’t multiply just because more characters dug the chest out. There are also rare static penalties that need to be assigned to chosen characters. If party members can’t agree on who receives the reward or the penalty, the chronicler makes the final call. If there’s no chronicler, the character with the lowest character number decides instead. Remember that in Tainted Grail you lose or win together! We encourage players to discuss and find solutions that would maximize their chances as a team.


Q: My party reached a journal entry that said: “Move to the lowest-numbered connected Location.” Do we all move, or does only one character move? (official FAQ)

A: Parties cannot split mid-exploration unless explicitly stated in the journal. Each effect that moves characters moves the entire party. The same goes for effects that result in passing the whole day.


Location cards

Q: The friendly and unfriendly settlement icons are the same except one is green and one is red. This will be hard to distinguish for red-green colorblindness. What are the location numbers for the friendly settlements?

A: In addition to the icon, all hostile settlements can also be identified by the instant rule printed on them. As noted by the rulebook, this often means resolving a diplomacy encounter. If you would like to know the location numbers which are friendly, just message one of us and we'll share them with you.


Menhirs and tokens

Q: What if I run out of Menhir models, tokens or markers? (official FAQ)

A: Running out of Menhirs is impossible, as only three Menhirs may stay active at any given moment. If you decide to activate a fourth Menhir, you need to take it from another location of your choice. Tokens and markers should never run out in a standard game. However, in the extremely unlikely event they do, you are free to use any temporary replacement pieces (such as dice or wooden cubes) until some of the components are freed.


Monsters of Avalon

Q: Will all the miniatures from the Monsters of Avalon be used in the Fall of Avalon (core box campaign)?

A: No. Based on the print and play cards from Update #32, only about half the Guardians can potentially show up in the Fall of Avalon campaign. The rest will appear in the stretch goal campaigns (Age of Legends and Last Knight).


Niamh

Q: Am I missing a double layered character board for Niamh?

A: No. Niamh can be used with any of the archetypes which is why she is ment to be slotted into one of the other double layered boards.


Rulebook


Secret cards

Q: The component listing (rules page 3) says there are 42 secret cards, but some are numbered above 42. Why?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- The answer is simple! Secret cards are not numbered consecutively. Some big secrets have larger number gaps before and after them or start with a digit that's used only once - to reduce any chance of mistake. Link to answer


Story event cards

Q: On page 3 in the rulebook it says there should be 70 story event cards (in addition to the 22 random event cards). I have the 22 random events, but only 53 story events. Is this just a misprint in the rules, or am I missing cards?

A: The 70 story events card count includes the 17 chapter setup cards


Campaign setup

Character boards (page 6)

Q: Why does Niamh not have her own double layered character board?

A: Niamh is a character who can be played with all the archetype decks, and therefore she can be slotted into all the other double layered character boards. AR has designed this game for a maximum of 4 players, which means a 5th board was not necessary and that is why Niamh will be coming without a double layered board.


Chapter one setup

Q: At the beginning of the Chapter one setup card, it tells you to reveal the top card of the Event Deck. Then, when you start playing, do you start at the “Start of the Day” or the “During the Day” stage? This is relevant, since “Start of the Day” stage would reveal another event card, but “During the Day” doesn’t.

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- The very first day of Campaign has no special rules and is resolved just like every other day. This means at the start you move the dial, reveal the Event card (in this case, Chapter 1: Part 2), and so on.


Save system (page 13)

Q: Can I save and restore different game sessions?

A: On page 13 of the rulebook there is a detailed list on how to save your games (check that out first). Like any other (non-destructive) campaign game, you can "restore" different campaigns; doing so is a matter of how much information you want to track and how much sorting you want to do before and after each game session. It will take more setup time if you save multiple sessions.


Q: Where is a link to a PDF of the save sheet?

A: See Helpful Files. The link will take you to the relevant section of this wiki with the file.


Starting decks setup (page 6)

Q: How are the starting Combat and Diplomacy cards chosen? Is that random or are you allowed to go through the deck and choose?

A: The starting decks for every character are pre-determined (in Fall of Avalon, they include cards 1-15 and are marked with a banner - see details on pg. 6 of the Rulebook, Section VII). Cards not used in the starting deck and all your personal cards go to your Advancement Pool.


Q: What should you do with the "Your First Encounter" card? Or is that covered on the chapter setup card?

A: Indeed, this is on the "Chapter 1 Setup" card. They're also used in "Open and Play".


Tutorial setup

  • For the tutorial open and play, remember to not shuffle the combat/diplomacy cards as the tutorial is scripted!
  • The PDF of the Open and Play Guide is available here: Helpful Files

Playing the game / Basic rules

Items

Q: When you are told to gain a random item, does that include the “craftable” items?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- Yes! Random Items are drawn from the entire Item deck that also contains Craftable Items.


Q: When exactly am I allowed to change the armour, relics, and weapons I’m using? (official FAQ)

A: As outlined in the “Items” and “Playing the Game” sections of the rulebook, players equip their characters at the start of the day and are only allowed to change their active Items when they acquire a new item or lose a part of their equipment. The purpose of this rule is to avoid players changing or micro-managing their entire equipment several times a day, with specific encounters in mind – after all, when a hill troll jumps out at you, it’s too late to change out of your diplomat’s robe into something more sturdy.


Q: Can I sell items?

A: The general answer is “no.” But, there may be occasional in-game ways to do so. This is all explained when those opportunities arise.


Q: If multiple items and card abilities apply, is there a specific order to resolve the effects. Enemy attacks for 2 damage, I have improvised armor (-1 damage, but not to 0) and Battle Cry (-1 damage) in play. Can I first use the armor to reduce the damage to 1 and then use Battle Cry to negate the last damage?

A: We always assume players will resolve any effects in the order they are listed in (for example: Key orders or Enemy Attack effects) .
If some things trigger exactly in the same moment (like two damage prevention effects kicking in at the same time), players are free to choose any order – usually the one that would benefit them most. For example, you may resolve the Improvised Armor (-1 damage, but not to 0) before Battle Cry (-1 damage) to reduce 2 Damage to 0.

Start of the day (phase I, page 8)

Q: Do you reduce the Menhir counter on the very first day of the campaign?

A: Yes, this is done so that the upkeep actions are the same for every day, which streamlines the ruleset. (pg. 7 - 8)


Q: Do Time Tokens persist on Locations when a Menhir goes away and the Location card was removed? If the Menhir is activated again, do you place the return the Time Token back to the Location? And if so, how do you keep track of this?

A: When you discard the Location, everything that was on it is also discarded, including Time Tokens, Guardians, items of deceased Characters, and any other markers. Only Characters have a special rule that moves them out of the discarded Location.


Q: Can I run out of event cards in the deck if I play one chapter long enough? (official FAQ)

A: No. When properly maintained, the event deck will keep adding new events indefinitely, until you finish the chapter.


Q: Help! I drew an Event card that doesn’t seem to make sense story-wise. (official FAQ)

A: Please return to recently revealed Event cards and re-read them. Event cards often ask you to put some additional random events and special events on top of the deck – overlooking this might result in drawing a card you shouldn’t draw at this point in the game.


During the day (phase II, page 8-9)

Activate Menhir

Q: When activating a new Menhir, do orthogonally adjacent locations get automatically added/revealed?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- According to rules, Activating a Menhir on its own does not reveal any additional Locations! Locations are revealed by Characters and during their Travel. This happens whenever you have an “open” Direction Key at the edge of your current Location, and the Location you would reveal is in the Active Menhir range. In short: when a new Menhir is lit up, check if anything new could be revealed around each Character and only reveal those cards.


Character action

Q: Maggot's character action: it says up to 4 Magic. What does this mean exactly? Does it mean he can only carry 4 Magic max? Or, does it mean if he currently has 3 or less Magic, he may use his character action until he has at most 4 Magic?

A: It means this Action gives you magic only if Maggot has no more than 4 Magic already. Naturally, Maggot has no hard Magic limit - he just can’t go past 4 using Meditation.


Explore action (page 8)

Q: Many of the location cards tell us to read a certain verse if we have a certain status or other effect. My question is: what if I have several of such statuses/effects mentioned in a particular location? To which verse should I go then?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- It's all covered (with examples) in the "How to Use Exploration Journal" section. But in short: there are two types of "switchboards" in the Journal: choice lists and redirections.
(1) Choice lists: you can take any choice that you meet requirements of.
(2) Redirections: when reading a verse from top to bottom, you take a first redirection that applies to you. For example, "If you have some status, go to verse 5" means that if you have some status, don't read any further and immediately go to verse 5.

Q: I heard that the checks during exploration were completely random, because you roll a dice to resolve them. Is that true?

A: They aren’t completely random. There are ways to mitigate the risks… but, these will be left for you to discover. You may also notice that many of these checks thematically involve particular attribute values, so increasing those will help too!


Travel action (page 8)

Q: Can you move more than 1 space? If so how much energy would it cost?

A: It's stated in the rulebook as an example on pg. 8: "Example: Going from Cuanacht Farmhold to Whitening will require two Travel Actions, as diagonal movement is not allowed." Each travel action costs 1 energy. In general, the rules say to do 1 action and then move to the next character, but dependent on the game group you could allow players to take multiple moves at once, each move would still cost 1 energy each. So 3 moves would cost 3 energy. It would make sense to do something like this when for example: you want to gather a party before taking certain actions or doing certain encounters.


Q: My character traveled to location A. Then another character already in location A starts to explore. Am I allowed to join them? Doesn’t it count as taking two actions in a row? (official FAQ)

A: You can! By default, players should take turns making their actions, but joining someone else’s action does not count against this limit.


End of the day (phase III, page 9)

Q: What happens when you don't eat food at the end of the day. Step 1) says to drop your energy to zero, but then step 2) seems to immediately raise it again. Should you skip step 2) when you didn't eat any food?

A: If you don't eat, you first become Exhausted by dropping Energy to 0. If you were already Exhausted (or you're Beor), you lose a point of Health instead. On top of that, Exhausted characters only restore 4 points of Energy.
So, not eating causes you to restore less Energy and potentially lose Health.


Dreams and nightmares (page 9)

Q: How do dreams work? Do you read dreams per character or per relevant location?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- We suggest to read Dreams and Nightmares per Location to minimize downtime and maximize player involvement. Pick any Location containing Characters. Read the Dream to all Characters there who have it. Then, read the Nightmare to all Characters there who have one. Repeat for any other Locations that contain Characters.

Please note, though, that the order or way in which you read dreams has no gameplay impact. If players would rather read their dreams personally, straight from the Journal, they can do so.

Q: Regarding dreams; what happens if multiple characters, including Maggot, are in a location, do we read a nightmare or a dream?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- Characters who meet the Dream criteria read the Dream. Characters who meet the Nightmare criteria read the Nightmare.


Combat

Combat cards

Q: I’m playing Ailei’s “Empowering Brew” combat card. Can I spend more charges to multiply the Bonus Keys by 4, 8, or even 16?(official FAQ)

A: No. This effect only doubles the bonuses printed on the card. Using it more than once per card would have no additional effect.


Q: For cards that let you gain markers for each connected key, does that include both the single and double version (assuming it's an attribute) of the key? For example, Heroic Strike says "On placement lose 1 Energy. Then gain combat markers for each connected Courage key."

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- A Key with two Courage symbols still counts as a Courage Key – it just has a higher Attribute requirement. In case of Heroic Strike, you will gain one marker for each connected Key with one Courage symbol and one marker for each connected Key with two Courage symbols.


Combat items

Q: In combat, how do we use items?

A: Item cards will have a description on them about when they can be used and what they do.


Combat traits

Q: A character is in a combat encounter which has a Robber trait. The character is at low health and decides to Run Away; however, running away also means the character receives an Opportunity Attack, which puts them at 1 health, triggering the Robber trait. What happens? Does the character get to Run Away without triggering the Robber trait or do both happen?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- Opportunity Attack that triggers when a Character Escapes needs to be resolved completely, with all its consequences. In this case, Character would fall to 1 Health, triggering the Robber trait and suffering all its results. To Escape without getting robbed, Character would need to have at least 3 Health, which would put them at two Health after the Opportunity Attack.

Enemy response

Q: When the enemy attack includes removing the last card in the sequence, do the abilities on the card happen before the card is removed? Or are the effects of the card canceled? For instance, suppose the last card in the sequence said "[On enemy action], prevent 2 damage." When the enemy attacks, part of its action discards the last card. Does the card ability still activate (preventing 2 damage) before being removed?

A: This is the reason why the “discard” icon is always last on the list of Attack results of the Encounter card. You apply all effects in the order they are listed in. This means, the Encounter will deal Damage first (triggering any preventing effects) and only then the card in the Sequence will be destroyed.

Diplomacy

Diplomacy cards

Diplomacy items

General rules for encounters and guardians

Charges (pages 15 + 19)

Q: How exactly do charges and “Pay X charges” abilities work? I’m confused because some cards say to place charges on other cards. Can you put charges on card which don’t have a “Pay X charges” ability?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- A card can only use Charges that were placed on it. If a card (for example: “Support”) places Charges anywhere in the Sequence, it is up to you to place them in the most beneficial way. If you put them on a card that has no Charge-related ability, you simply won’t be able to use them. In short: cards that grant extra Charges are mostly used to “charge up” cards that burn Charges.

Q: Assuming you have enough charges for multiple activations, how many times can you use passive abilities (the "pay X charges" abilities) on a turn?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- As many times as you want, as long as you can afford to pay.

Encounter rules, icons, triggers and effects (page 15-16)

Q: When playing cards during combat/diplomacy, what order do all the effects trigger?

A: Effects are applied in this order:
- bonuses from attribute, magic, and free keys if connected
- card's ability if it triggers now (i.e. has "On Placement" icon)


Q: Can I choose to discard my own cards from the sequence when I see this icon:

A: A player cannot choose to discard cards from the sequence.

Q: If a character is in a different location and is struggling with combat/diplomacy, can I jump in the middle of combat to help?

A: No, unless explicitly stated by something else in game, the general rules don’t allow you to jump in during the middle of combat/diplomacy.


Q: When in a party is in an encounter, can a non-active character use an item?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- Yes. There’s no rule that would restrict other Characters from using their Items, even if it’s your Activation. Just keep in mind that unless stated otherwise on the card, Items only benefit their owners. For example, if your armor prevents damage, it will only prevent it for you, and if your weapon adds a marker at the start of the Activation, it will only do so when you become Active!


Q: If one character escapes during an encounter, do their cards stay in the sequence or do the cards get removed?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- They stay. They are shuffled back into the decks only after the Encounter ends, as there’s no rule that would remove these cards from the Sequence. And if there are any passive cards belonging to the Escaped Character, they may still be activated.


Q: If Character A is on a location with an instant rule “Draw a blue encounter when you enter this location.” and Character B enters that location, are the two characters allowed to form a party and resolve the encounter together or does the encounter trigger before the characters can form a party?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- The rules state players may always join any Action that starts in their Location. And while they do not specifically mention instant Encounters, it also apply to them. When you trigger such Encounter, all Characters already in the Location may decide to join you.

Q: The Free Key for the last card in the sequence is the void icon. If the next card I play is my second card during this turn, can I place this card in the sequence if its connecting Free Key is the "play an additional card" bonus icon? Or is that icon canceled and I can't connect the card.

A: The lightning icon is canceled. The void icon erases every icon, including this one.


Q: If a card says to lose something, can we still play the card if we don't have it to lose? For example, Might Makes Right, says "[On placement] lose 1 Rep..." Can it still be played if there's no reputation to lose?

A: Yes. Loss effects trigger always, even if there’s nothing more to lose. This means if you have 0 Reputation, you can trigger effects that cause you to “Lose 1 Rep”, but you can’t trigger the effects that require you to “Pay 1 Rep”.

Q: When drawing a green encounter, Beautiful weather allows you to draw to and pick the one with the lowest value. The traveling merchant has no value printed. Is it's value 0 for the purposes of this check?

A: Yes. No Value has the same meaning as zero value. Cards that do not trigger actual Combat have no value to reinforce the fact players cannot fight them.


Guardians movement (page 12)

Q: What happens if a guardian encounter moves into a settlement?

A: There is no rule against guardians moving into settlements.


Q: What happens if a guardian moves to an unrevealed or unconnected location?

A: If this ever happens then move it to the highest numbered connected location instead.


Q: From pg. 12 of the rules, “If the Guardian should move to an unrevealed or unconnected Location, move it to the highest-numbered connected Location instead,” but what happens if a Menhir gets removed and the location where the guardian was gets removed? Does the guardian disappear, or does it move to the highest-numbered connected Location?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- When you discard a Location from the game, you naturally remove all tokens, markers, and any other things (including Guardians) present on this card. Only Characters have a rule that moves them back to another Location – Guardians do not.
Luring a Guardian to the part of the map that’s about to drown in Wyrdness is a legal move, and one of the few ways to get rid of a Guardian without fighting it.


Losing resources in encounters

Q: Some diplomacy Encounters cause you to lose Wealth or Energy on Response (for example, “Temptations”). What happens if I run out?

A: If the Encounter has any unusual win or lose conditions, they are defined on the card (for example, see the "Whispering Wisp"). "Temptations" has no special end condition, therefore it is resolved according to the standard rules - which means players in the encounter will keep losing 1 Energy and 1 Wealth with each Response until they win, decide to Escape, or someone runs out of Diplomacy cards. Please keep in mind that "Loss" can always trigger, even if you don't have enough Resources - for example, if you have 1 Energy, "Lose 3 Energy" will simply put you at 0.

Q: What do I do if a combat/diplomacy card tells me to lose a resource I don't have?

A: If a combat/diplomacy card tells you to lose a resource (wealth, reputation, food, magic) or energy, always lose as much as you can, up to the indicated value.
You can still play cards that tell you to lose one of the above even if you don’t have any to lose. For example, Beor is in a diplomacy encounter and plays Threatening Voice, which says “[On placement] lose 1 Rep. If you have at least 2 Aggression, move the affinity track marker up 1.” If Beor has no reputation, he can still play that card.
This is different than if a combat/diplomacy passive ability tells you to pay a resource. If you can’t pay the resource, then you can’t use the ability. For example, Beor is in a diplomacy encounter and plays Evasiveness, which has an ability that says, “Pay 2 Charges and 2 [Energy]: End this Encounter without Reward or Penalty.” If Beor doesn’t have enough Charges or Energy, he can’t use the ability. Note: other characters in the party can assist by paying these Energy/Magic costs (see FAQ entry Can I cover the energy and magic cost for my party members in encounters?).

Q: If my teammate has no wealth and needs to pay it at the end of turn, can I share my wealth?

A: Party members can trade food, wealth, items and secrets at any time, as long as the party is not currently involved in an encounter (page 11). You can't choose to receive the attack / response aimed at another player, so you may not "redirect" the energy and wealth loss (they always affect the active Character).


Q: Can I cover the energy and magic cost for my party members in encounters?

A: When a party is in an encounter (combat and diplomacy), members of the party may help cover energy and magic costs of the other party members. These are often the costs to use passive ("Pay X charges") abilities. (pg. 11) Link to discussion


Game modes

Single player

Q: Is solo mode a full experience?

A: Yes, a 1-player game is perfectly viable and allows you to experience everything the game has to offer.


Q: What are the differences between solo and coop? How does the game scale? Scaling depends on character count.

A: The core rules are the same for the Solo and the Coop mode, and the most important gameplay differences between them are:
- Solo players/characters receive a more lenient “You are dying!” card, giving them a better chance of self-recovery.
- The Events decks for each Chapter come together differently, depending on the number of characters.
- As you add characters, Guardian Menhirs start to go dark faster – and their activation costs scale higher.
- As you add characters, tougher Encounters cards enter Encounter Decks faster.
- As you add characters, static rewards from the Exploration Journal become less impactful – the characters/players need to have a more organized resource-gathering effort.
- Later in the game, for larger groups of characters, some Events might spawn Guardian creatures directly on the map.


Allmother’s Mercy (page 13)

Q: Will using the Allmother's Mercy affect my ending?

A: Well, it is a status you mark on your save sheet, which is often how the game determines the branching story paths. The rules also suggest starting over in Story Mode if you find yourself needing to use Allmother's Mercy multiple times.


Q: Why does the Chapter 1 notes say “Restart the Campaign”?

A: This literally means “Restart the Campaign”, as there’s no point in doing a partial restart in the very first Chapter. Players have to go back to the Setup (pages 6 and 7 of the Rulebook) and set up a brand new Campaign.


Q: Chapter 2 and beyond: If you lose a point in an Attribute (later chapters) do you have to lose skill cards first?

A: Yes. As mentioned In the “Buying Skills” section of the Rulebook (page 12), each Skill card also represents another point of the Attribute. If your Aggression is 3 (two markers in Aggression slots + a skill card with third Aggression point) and you lose a point of Aggression, you need to remove this skill card.


Maggot's Cards

Rite of Whitering

Q: How does this card work?

A: Krzysztof Piskorski- After you place this card in the Sequence, put two Time Tokens on it. Then, pay 2 Magic AND lose 1 Rep. If you won't, this card gets destroyed (the destruction icon destroys the last card in the sequence - in this case, it will be this card).
- At the start of each Activation remove one Time Token. When the last Token is removed, gain 6 markers.
- EXPLANATION: Basically, this card has an added cost. Most TG cards have no costs, so there's nowhere else to put it but the card's ability. And the additional reason why we went for ("pay or the card is destroyed") instead of ("you have to pay X to play it") is to enable it to combo with some other cards and skills that are triggered by destroying cards. Besides, that way even if it gets burned, it still adds to the number of cards you've played this turn that's checked by Opportunity Attack, Opportunist trait and some other stuff.


Other

Pronunciation Acknowledgement and Disclaimer

Irish linguist Benjamin Lowe and his SO Dobromir Uzunov provided the following pronunciation guide, so thank you to them for their help! They add the disclaimer, "These pronunciations are based on a native and linguistic grasp of Irish, but pronunciations may vary per dialect and also in comparison to Scottish Gaelic for example."


Pronouncing Character Names

Q: How do I pronounce the character names?

A: First wave characters:
Beor: [Byor], "yo" as in "yo-yo" pr "yoghurt", similar to the name "Björk"
Ailei: [Ey-lee] or [Ai-lee], "ey" as in "hey", "ai" as in "iphone", "lee" as in "spleen"
Maggot: Pronounced as written, English pronunciation
Arev: Pronounced as written, "a" as in "apple"
Niamh: [Neev], "ee" as in "need"



Second wave characters:
Mabd: [Mayv] or [Meev], "ay" as in "may" and "ee" as in "need"
Dagan: Pronounced as written, English pronunciation
Sloan: Pronounced as written, English pronunciation
Fyul: Pronounced as written, English pronunciation, almost sounds like "fuel"
Naazer: Most likely should be Na'azer, or [Na-azer], although could be [Na-zir] or [Naa-zer], literal pronunciations
Thebalt: [Ti-bo] or [Tay-bo], it's close to the French Thibault; "ti" sounds like "tea" and "ay" as in "may"
Caolin: [Kay-lin], "ay" as in "may"
Faol: [Fey-ol] or [Feel], "ey" like "hey" and "feel" like the word itself
Duana: [Doo-ana], pretty much pronounced as written


Pronouncing Location Names

OK so Cuanacht is a bit tricky.
[Kuh - naht] - the "u" is soft like in hunt, blunt and stunt. The "ch" is like the sound in "Loch" or like the German "ch" in "Nacht"

And Dobromir added "Although I personally will pronounce the "u" like in university or just a direct "uu" sound like in you."


Standees for Monsters of Avalon with color and without color

Standee pdf images with color- If you want the pdf file with the color images of the monsters, it's in the Files folder after downloading. Note this was made by a fellow board gamer, not officially by Awaken Realms (the non-color standees were official releases by Awaken Realms).

Original non-color standees released by Awaken Realms- The standees weren't part of the original Kickstarter campaign. The images are a provided extra as backers were interested in making standees.


User: EliasH

[What Links Here]