Article Edit | History | Editors

Campaign of Nations FAQ RSS Feed

FAQ for Campaign of Nations

Info taken from various forum threads, consolidated into a Wiki page so that people can more easily find all the info in one place and update it.
List of game FAQs

2.1 Map

Roads are historical flavor art. They give no movement benefit (e.g. when crossing minor rivers, or moving through rough or mountains) or other game effect.

Ordinary cities and towns (e.g. Bautzen, Gorlitz, Brandenburg, i.e. which are not supply depots, fortified, fortress with FG, or Leipzig) are historical flavor art. They don't have any movement or combat or other effect.

2.4 Napoleon

Napoleon is formally not a "combat unit", and does not suffer an E combat result, and does not become disrupted. (But he can force march, and will never suffer attrition.)

The rules do not cover whether/how Napoleon can be eliminated, and what the effects of that might be. Various clarifications about Napoleon are in this thread:
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/2269790/can-napoleon-be-eliminated-can-napoleon-become-dis

5.1 Tracing Supply

"Tracing supply" makes it sound like you trace a possibly multi-hex supply path from a unit to a supply source, as in many wargames. But in Campaign of Nations, there are no supply paths per se and no real "tracing" except in the minimal sense of "tracing" to a directly adjacent HQ or supply depot. A unit is in Supply exactly if any of the 3 bullet points is true, i.e. if the unit is within one hex of an eligible friendly HQ, or within one hex of a friendly Supply Depot City, or located in a (map edge) supply area.

5.2 Captured Supply

Supply depots never change ownership. If the opponent occupies your supply depot city, the supply depot remains friendly to you, even though it cannot supply your adjacent units while an enemy occupies the depot hex. If the enemy moves away, it can supply your adjacent units again, without your needing to "recapture" the city.

6.0 Movement

Note that units move individually (except that one unit can move with Napoleon). A unit moving together with Napoleon moves at the (slower) speed of the unit (i.e. 3 MP, or 4 MP for cavalry), not the 5 MP of Napoleon. The only benefit for a unit to move together with Napoleon is the die roll modifier if a force march is attempted.

Remember that large stacks moving (one by one) may get broken up due to the additional +1 cost to enter a hex if the moving unit will cause 10 or more SP in the hex.

6.2 Enemy-Occupied Hexes

If Allied combat units enter a hex with only Napoleon, and there is no adjacent space for Napoleon to be displaced, then Napoleon is eliminated.

6.3 HQs & Bridges

Only explicit bridge symbols are bridges. Roads crossing minor rivers have no bridge symbols and don't give the bridge benefit, so crossing a minor river always costs +1 MP.

6.4 Forced March

A unit's supply status at both the start and at the end of its (proposed) force march matter. Because supply requires being within one hex of a friendly HQ or supply depot (or in an edge-of-map supply zone), this means that in practice, typical forced march attempts will suffer the +1 Attenuated Supply modifier.

Napoleon can force march, and is immune to attrition.

7.0 Combat

"Units possessing strength points may attack adjacent enemy Units in the combat phase." Like with movement, only the acting player's units may attack.

7.1 Retreat before combat

"+1 if attack is made across river or bridge" applies if ANY attack unit is attacking across a river or bridge (not all attackers have to be attacking across a river or bridge).

"Napoleon may automatically RBC successfully." This means literally Napoleon only; units with him still have to make a RBC die roll.

7.2 Defender Attempt to Concentrate Forces

Roll for each hex with adjacent defenders to see if all friendly units in that hex move into the target hex.

If there are multiple hexes with friendly units, you don't have to declare all concentrating hexes in advance. Roll one die for a defender's side hex that is attempting to move by Concentrating Force, and that result applies for everyone in that hex. Then go to the next next, if any, that wants to move by Attempting to Concentrate Forces.

7.5 Combat Odds Ratio

The bridge effect (1/4 strength, minimum strength 1) applies only to units attacking across a bridge. If additional units are attacking not across a bridge, they do not suffer that effect, and the final odds may be higher than 1:2.

7.6 Combat Results Table Die Roll

An E result will eliminate all French units except Napoleon, who would remain alone in the hex.

7.8 Defensive Works Table Die Roll

The table is actually called Fortified Cities Table.

7.9 Apply Results

Unit owners assign their own SP losses as desired to any of their own units in the combat. (It seems unspecified in what order this is done, but in practice that rarely matters.)

7.9 Retreats

"or becomes disrupted" was left out of the rulebook, but appears correctly under the Casualty Table. The rulebook text should say:
Additional losses are possible If a unit or stack retreats across a River or Bridge or becomes disrupted, roll again on the casualty table.

7.9 Advances

Attackers could be allowed to advance two hexes due to a + result on the CRT.

7.9 Disruption

Disrupting an already disrupted unit has no additional effect. The unit does not receive more disruption, and is not considered to have "become disrupted" for purposes of additional losses on the Casualty Table.

Napoleon himself cannot become disrupted.

"+1 Supply is traced to Disrupted" means if the units in supply are getting their supply from a disrupted HQ.

8.0 Disruption Recovery

During this phase of a player turn, only the active player does disruption recover for their units.

"Roll a die once per hex, applying modifiers as indicated on the Disruption Recovery Unit" - evidently a typo, and should say "on the Disruption Recovery Table".

9.0 Fortifications

The "Defensive Works table" is actually called the Fortified Cities table.

10.0 Mountain & Rough Hexes

Moving along a road does not negate the MP cost for entering Mountain (3) or Rough (2). Roads are only historical flavor art.

Bridge Traffic Jam card

"+1 movement point to cross this bridge for this unit attempting to cross." This means that the bridge (unexpectedly) costs an extra MP to cross (not that the unit gets +1 MP). If the moving unit doesn't have enough MP to cross, then its movement ends there.

[What Links Here]