|Article Edit | History | Editors|
FAQ for Battles of the Bulge: Celles
Info taken various forum threads at BGG and CSW, consolidated into a Wiki page so that people can more easily find all the info in one place and update it.
Table of Contents
Downloadable Official Rules and Errata
Publisher's rules and errata download page: http://www.revolutiongames.us/Playeraids.html
The possible die roll results are 0 to 9. (Not 1 to 10.)
2.2.3 Combat Units
Each unit with 2 steps (2 white dots) has a corresponding reduced-strength counter (1 red dot) for when it has lost 1 step.
4.0 Action Chits and Tactical Chits
In the Chit Phase, it may happen that you must put an action chit into your cup for a formation which has no units in play. (Remember that you can always use an action chit to activate a single unit of any formation.)
An Allied supply path can cross the Meuse only at bridges; a German supply path cannot cross the Meuse at all.
In practice, it is hard to cut supply off for a large area (since supply paths can be arbitarily long and don't need to follow roads), so it is more typical to cut supply off for e.g. an individual unit or stack (by sandwiching it between two of your units).
7.0 Action Phase
When a formation is activated, you flip all its units to their unused side. After you finish moving & attacking with a unit, flip it to its used side. Any of the formation's units which you don't use remain on their unused side.
The 84th action chit lets you activate only 3 units of the 84th Infantry, but you may use the Extra Move tactic chit to activate a 4th unit at this time. You must predesignate which units are being activated.
Drawing is part of your action, so after you have done all your activations for a turn, you no longer draw from your cup; only the opponent continues with actions.
The mere presence of Road or Highway in a hex which a unit enters does not suffice to give the beneficial MP costs for Road and Highway. You get the Road or Highway cost only if you move from one hex to the next hex via a Road or Highway which connects those two hexes, of course (i.e. the same as in almost all wargames). E.g. moving from 2505 to 2506 costs for entering Forest, but moving from 2405 to 2506 gives the cheaper Highway cost.
Moving across a river along a Road or Highway costs only the Road or Highway cost (no additional cost for the river).
8.4 Rear Areas
The German rear area is a bit hard to see on the map; it is the southeast corner, and it extends from 2116 to 3309. The US rear area is on the north, from 1100 to 2100.
If any attacking unit attacks across a minor river, the -1 modifier applies; it does not matter if the river hexside has a bridge.
Units which join an attack are not turned over after the combat. Only the currently active unit will be turned over (if it has used up its MP, or suffered an attacker retreat result in the combat, or its owning player does not want to do anything more with it).
The Combat Results Table misleadingly presents combat results in order *RD, but you should apply them in order *DR. I.e. with an *RD result, first remove a step from the victims; second disrupt the victims; third retreat the victims.
If the lead attacking unit is already disrupted, then the first disruption of a D result is nonetheless applied (with no effect) to the lead attacking unit. (The second disruption must be applied to some non-disrupted attacker, if possible.)
Each hex retreated through an empty hex in an enemy ZOC will:
If the active unit suffers a Retreat result (as the attacker), then its activation is finished: turn it over. (Otherwise a unit can continue moving (and perhaps even attacking) if it still has movement points after an attack.)
11.2 Advance after Combat
"any of the attacking units—not just the active unit—may occupy the defenders’ vacated hexes" implies that any combination of attacking units can occupy any combination of vacated hexes. I.e. an attacking unit can even advance into a vacated defender hex to which that attacking unit was not adjacent.
13.2 Extra Move
You can use the extra move chit to pull a reinforcement unit from the turn track into the game.
When replacing a 1-step loss of a red-dot reduced-strength unit on the map, there is thus a corresponding 2-step unit in the Destroyed Units area. Remove the red-dot unit from the map and move that 2-step unit from the DUA to the hex where the red-dot unit was.
When rebuilding a white-dot 1-step unit that was eliminated (and is thus in the Destroyed Units area), simply move it from the Destroyed Units area back to the map (onto a hex where that formation's reinforcements enter).
If a unit you want isn't available in the Destroyed Units area, then you can't replace it.
Each red-dot unit is the reduced counter for a specific two step unit. So e.g. 2nd Armor can have 5 armor units max at any time, and these can be a mix of two step and one step armor units depending on losses and replacements.
15.0 Führer Begleit Withdrawal
After FBB has been withdrawn, the Germans can still rebuild a FBB step from the Destroyed Units Area, so that the step will not count as a victory point against them, but the rebuilt FBB step does not enter the map.
16.0 Victory Conditions
Units with a single red dot are the reduced-strength units which are removed from the Destroyed Units area before counting VPs. The units with a single white dot are not reduced-strength units (because they have no corresponding 2-dot units), so you do count those eliminated single-white-dot units. Example: The German Destroyed Units area has 4 2-step units, 2 reduced (single red dot) units, and 3 1-step (single white dot) units. On the map there are 2 reduced strength (red dot) German units. So that's (4×2)-2+3 = 9 VP for the Allies due to eliminated German steps.
22.0 Reinforcement and Withdrawal Schedule
At the start of a turn, it is useful to put that turn's potential reinforcements near your action tracks, so you're less likely to forget about them when their formation activates.
|[What Links Here]|