Article Edit | History | Editors

EastFront collected rules threads redirected from EastFront II FAQ RSS Feed

These are questions and answers collected from EastFront II rules threads as of 2008-09-04. EastFront rules threads have not been added yet.

Format of this document:

  • Where answers are inline, they will be in bold; where they're separate, they will be indented.
  • Questions preceded by "(EF1)" and "(EF2)" are probably specific to EastFront and EastFront II, respectively.
  • "Original thread" links should take you back to the thread where the question was asked, where you might find more extensive discussion.
  • Rules citations will be in parenthesis with the rules version number, so "(2.2 (EF2 1.01))" means rule 2.2 in version 1.01 of the EF2 rules. Err, well, this one hasn't been applied consistently below.

List of game FAQs

Errata

Axis S'41 OB Card

For the Axis S'41 OB Card available on Columbia's website,
(http://www.columbiagames.com/resources/3405/EF2-OB-cards.pdf)
the 1st Rumanian Army should have 1 CV only.
original thread

Map & terrain

What terrain is this hex?

(EF2) Which of these hexsides are impassable?

  • Odessa/Nikolaev (sea or river?) River
  • Sevastopel/Sev' NW1 (sea or land?) Land
  • Novorossiysk/Krasnodar W1 (sea or river?) River
  • Krasnodar NW1/Krasnodar W1 (sea or land?) Land (I think)

original thread

Melitopol & Perekop

1.6 "The hexside between Melitopol & Perekop can be crossed by rail movement only..." Can HQ command range be traced across the above hexside or would it have to go around Sivash Lagoon via Melitopol W1?

Well, that's not impassable, so I'd say you can trace command across it.
original thread, asked again here

Krasnovodsk

(EF2) The 9.0 sidebar implies that the Axis could neutralise Baku by capturing Krasnovodsk, but Krasnovodsk doesn't show on my East map edge.

Well, there is that Krasnovodsk transit box on the east edge of the map... But only the Soviets can make off-map moves on that edge of the map; see 9.5. (EF2 1.01).
original thread

Hexside engagement limits

A hex contains the forest terrain symbol but has otherwise open ground hexsides, i.e. the forest symbol does not even touch any of the hexsides. What's the engagement limit?

The engagement limit is only determined by the hexside terrain, so in your example it would be 2.
original thread

What is "Home Territory"?

The dashed black lines are national boundaries, and USSR/Soviet Union is explicitly identifed, but Germany's "Home Territory" is not so obvious. Craig clarified in the forum that Germany's "home territory" in EF2 is East Prussia and West Poland (that west of the 1941 Startline).
Home Cities.

Setting up

Setting up Barbarossa

During free setup of Barbarossa, the russian player is expected to place one block in each major city. I assume this means each major city in Russia (so we can disregard Ankara and Constantinople, for instance).
So can the Russian safely also not man the major cities of Helsinki and Stockholm?

Yes, those areas are out of play; see the third paragraph on p. 1.
original thread

Army group Rumania sets up 8 hexes in Rumania/Transylvania (even though there are only 3 combat units and 1 HQ)?

Transylvania is part of Hungary (see the clarification about this in the page 1 sidebar in the version 1.01 & 1.02 rules), so that means there are 3 frontline hexes in Hungary, and 3 Hungarian units to cover them. That leaves 6 fronline hexes in Rumania, and 7 combat units (4 Rumanian, 3 Army Group Rumania).
original thread

The Russians set up with enough units to exactly fill the front line - one to a hex, with the exception of Odessa, which has one less unit than needed leaving one hex open, and Minsk which has 5 units and only 4 hexes?

With the historical deployment rules on p. 41, the units which set up in specific cities are supposed to be in or within one hex of the city, which means you can fill that empty frontline hex by sliding the coastal army out of Odessa. (I don't know whether that's the intent of the rules, but that's what I do.)
original thread

On p.42 of the rulebook (v1.02), 1st Rumanian Army has 1CV. Yet, on the OB card, it has 2CV. Therefore, either one is wrong. Taking the Scenario S'41 (on rulebook p.28) into consideration, which states that the total CV for Satellite Infantry is 17, I think that the OB card is wrong.

1cv, your logic is correct.
original thread

Setting up scenarios after Barbarossa

If I am going to play the Kursk scenario, do I simply add the troops used in S'41, W'41, S'42, W'42, S'43 (exception on the Russian paratrooper), using the CV-limit noted in the scenario?

All you have to look at is the Kursk scenario itself; you don't have to go back to earlier ones and try to figure out which units were added. So for the Axis, where it says Armor, 12 units, 42 CV, you take out 12 armor units, and set them at any combination of steps adding up to 42.
original thread

S42-44 line north of Leningrad

There is a S42-44 front line north of Leningrad. That is only for EuroFront, not EastFront (in which Scandanavia, including Finland, is unused, as per rule 1.1).
S 42-44 Axis, set-up units in Olonets hexes?

Starting unit strength

When I choose my start units, i.e. 12 units = 36 CV, can I deploy 12 at strength 3, even though at full strength they are 4 CV units?

Or basically do start units have to be at full strength?

Yeah, see 3.22: you can deploy them in any combination which adds up to 36. (So, all 12 at 3CV, or 6 at 4CV and 6 at 2CV, etc.) Exception: SS units can't start above the average CV for their type.
original thread

"Eliminated but available for rebuilding"

"Surplus units in the currently available counter mix (not future reinforcements) begin the scenario eliminated but available for rebuilding."

Are the starting forces you are given plus later reinforcements not finite? Can you just help yourself and build cadres of units you didn't possess at the scenario's start??

In some scenarios there will be units that start "dead." IE they are already in the current force pool (have previously arrived as reinforcements) but are not included in the Starting Forces table (example: in S'44 there are 9 panzer unit that have arrived, but only 8 are listed as starting forces).
These units are available for rebuilding during play.
original thread (which has more on this)

Exceptions to 3.12 (scenario special rules in campaigns)

Despite 3.12 telling you to note scenario special rules that apply in a scenario, there are exceptions:
Summer '43 Restricted Satellites
Summer '44 Standfast

HQ activation

How many steps in a blitz?

5.7 says that "Blitz HQs are committed to expending two steps in order to command a second movement and compat phase in the same Player Turn."

I suppose this means that you flip the HQ one step after the "normal" command, and one step after "blitz" command. That is, two steps in total?

(I don't know if it is my bad English, but you may interpret 5.7 that you first flip the HQ one time during "normal" combat, and than flip another two during blitz (i.e taking in total three steps to command "normal+blitz".)

Yes, that's right. So, in the Edelweiss example on p. 39, the HQ activates at 2CV, commands all units within 2 hexes, gets a 2-strength air strike with a range of 2 hexes, etc. After normal movement & combat, the blitz marker is removed, the HQ drops down to 1CV, commands all units within 1 hex in the blitz movement phase, supports combat within 1 hex in the blitz combat phase (and gets a 1-strength air strike with a range of 1), and then drops down to 0CV.
(Also, instead of supporting combat during the blitz combat phase, it could have mobilized at the end of the blitz movement phase. But as the example notes, it couldn't move at the start of the blitz movement phase.)
original thread

Can OOS HQs activate?

Yeah, I don't think there's any restriction there.
original thread

Deploying HQs

You may deploy a HQ 1 hex without activating it, then you move it 2 hexes with another HQ? And all this is done, without losing any steps?

No, deploying an HQ is something you do while activating it (see 5.21). Once you activate an HQ, you can't move it until the end of the movement phase, after moving everything else; at that point, if you want to move it, you mobilize it (5.4, 5.41) instead of having it support combat.
So, say you're the Axis in S'41, and you've got AGN and AGC close together. You might activate AGN (possibly deploying it one hex, and probably adding a blitz marker, ha ha). During the movement phase, you're going to punch holes in the Soviet line, and during the blitz movement phase, you're going to have AGC (along with a bunch of other units), commanded by AGN, pour through those holes. Then, the next fortnight, you might activate AGC, and have it command AGN (and a bunch of other units) to move forward.
original thread

Disengaging Deploying HQs

Rule 5.21 States:

"Deploying HQs cannot Engage. Engaged HQs can Disengage when they deploy, but must take immediate Pursuit Fire if the deploy move is a retreat (see 6.42)"

This is clear if the HQ is the only unit in the battle hex.

If the battle hex contains other friendly units, then the deployment is prior to movement phase so it is not a Retreat even if in the same activation the other units do retreat. In this case HQ does not suffer Pursuit Fire. Is this correct? Or does the HQ suffer Pursuit fire along with the rearguard unit?

You are correct: if it deploys out of an engaged hex and friendly units remain behind, the HQ isn't retreating, and so isn't subject to pursuit fire.
original thread

Can Supreme HQs deploy one hex like regular HQs?

Yes.
original thread, asked again here

Can SHQs use more than one step in a fortnight?

Can SHQs use more than one step in a fortnight? (I know it says they can't Blitz, but is that what they mean by blitzing?)

No; you're right that blitzing is the way you burn two steps instead of one, and that SHQs can't do that.
original thread

How many units can SHQs command?

How many units can a SHQ activate for a move? Only 1 unit for 1 Supreme move, or all units in a hex for 1 Supreme move (like a normal HQ activates units in their range)?

It's based on number of UNITS, not hexes. So a Supreme HQ at level 3 in a normal summer turn can move up to six units strategically. (If moving exclusively by rail, one unit could take more than one of those moves, of course.)
original thread

Two HQs in the same hex

3.24 Deploying Forces
....Players may deploy additional forces in any supplied hexes desired, except that multiple HQs can never be deployed in the same hex nor in adjacent hexes....

Is this HQ deployment restriction only applicable at the start of a scenario?

I think that's correct. Note that even with the not-adjacent-hexes limitation, you could still put an HQ on the front line, and another two hexes back, and then begin your turn by deploying the rear one forward a hex ("deploying" as in 5.21, not 3.24) when you activate it.
original thread

What exactly is a "deactivated" HQ?

Is it an HQ that was activated during the command phase and was then deactivated (so during any Blitz phases it would be a deactivated HQ) or do HQ's that have not been activated AT ALL this turn also fall under the label " deactivated"?

Deactivating a HQ is the process of losing a step and moving the HQ back to its upright position.
So other HQs that were not activated are able to be moved again in the blitz phase. But HQs which were activated earlier in the player turn cannot.
original thread

Movement

Moving HQs

  • May SHQ rail HQs?
  • May SHQ "move" HQs?
  • May HQs "move" other HQs?
When an HQ isn't activated, it behaves just like other units, so you can rail-move them, or use your SHQ or another HQ to move them normally (2 hexes in dry weather, 1 in mud & snow), and they do exert a ZOC.
One thing to keep in mind is that, other than deploying one hex (5.21), you can't move an HQ before activating it, because you activate your HQs before you move any units. So if your HQs aren't where you need them for some operation, you'll have to spend a fortnight moving them into position.
original thread, this thread also talks about moving HQs with Supreme moves

Can an HQ that has not been activated during the command phase be moved twice by a Blitz HQ ( once during the regular movement phase and once during the Blitz movement phase?)

Yes.
original thread

Mobilizing HQs by rail

Rule 5.62 states that a SHQ can Mobilize using normal or strategic movement. If it uses strategic movement in dry conditions, can it actually move up to 20 hexes by rail (because it has a SPEED of 2)?

Well, a unit's speed doesn't affect how far it can move by rail. All units move 10 rail hexes per supreme move; 5.62 is saying that a SHQ can Mobilize by rail (making one 10-hex rail move) without spending a supreme move. If you want to move 20 hexes (which would normally take two supreme moves), then you would save one of your supreme moves for that.
(That's what's meant by the last sentence of 5.62: if you activate your SHQ at 3CV, you've got six supreme moves; if you use five of them on other units, then you've got one left over which you can use while mobilizing your SHQ.)
original thread

Rail movement in unsupplied areas

Can you rail move in unsupplied areas (beyond the railhead?)

No; see 9.12. Your friendly rail lines must extend from your supply origin, so you can't move by rail within an isolated pocket. (But also see 9.31; sea lanes between friendly ports can connect segments of your rail line.)
original thread

Disengaging forward

On page 10 of the rulebook it is explained how disengaging works. The part that's especially intriguing to me is the piece in the margin where they claim it is sometimes possible to disengage FORWARD into a friendly hex. However, on page 15 where hex control is explained, they say this is determined at the beginning of a phase and lasts throughout the phase. So the thing is, I can't really picture a unit disengaging forward if another friendly unit moved somewhere in the Blitz, while at the beginning this was still an enemy or disputed hex.... Am I missing something? The two things I'm reffering to seem to contradict one another.....

Note that it's phase, not turn.
Take a look at the picture at the bottom of page 17 (not the text, just the picture). Suppose that Soviet units A, C, and D have just moved in & attacked during the normal movement phase, and suppose that during the combat phase, German unit Y was eliminated. The German units W and X are engaged, so they don't exert a ZOC; Soviet unit D isn't engaged, so it does exert a ZOC. This means that, at the start of the blitz movement phase, Luck is Soviet-controlled, so Soviet unit A could disengage into it (assuming unit A is within command range of a blitz HQ, etc.).
Or, still looking at the same picture, suppose that the German units have just moved during the normal movement phase. At the start of the blitz movement phase, hex G1 is German-controlled, so German unit W could disengage there.
original thread

HQ mobilizing out of engaged hex doesn't have to be the rearguard

Even though HQ mobilization occurs after ordinary unit movement, if all the ordinary units move out of battle and then the HQ mobilizes out, the owner can declare one of the ordinary units to be the rearguard, according to Craig:
Disengage HQ Deployment Clarification Question

Combat

Original Attacker, Original Defender

If I am the Original Defender in a hex, and attack there during my turn, am I still the Original Defender (and maintaining control of the Battle Hex) after combat is resolved?

(I guess so since it says The player who initiates a battle is termed the Original Attacker for as long as it lasts.)

Yes, you've got it right; just note that during your attack, the "original attacker" is the defender, so he's the one who gets defensive benefits like Double Defense for defending in woods, or Double Defense & Double Fire for defending in major cities, etc. But after that round of battle, as the the original defender, you're still the one who stands his units back up. This also tells you which battle hexes you can trace command & land supply through (and rail supply into): if it's got your units standing up, you can; if it doesn't, you can't.
original thread

"At least DF" and "DF or better"

Are DF attack modifications in a major city cumulative (e.g. would an armor unit fire at DF or TF while defending in a major city)?

The rules say that defender gets "defense DF (or better)" in a major city. I assume this is what they are referring to..?

Would an armor unit get TF or QF (quadruple) defending in a fortress?

SS Armor and SS Mech retain their defensive TF in Cities.
All other units fire DF defensively.
A normal armor unit would be TF, not QF, if it's the largest original defender in a fortress.
original thread, asked again here and here

Applying losses

"Losses must be applied to the strongest (highest CV) units present at the instant of fire." Must this continue until all units are of the same CV?

Yes, and then it becomes the defender's choice for the next loss. But after that, there would again be units with a higher CV, and these would take losses first.
So with a 4 Armor, and two 3 Infantry, the Armor would have to take the first hit. Then you would have 3 blocks all at 3 strength, and you get to choose which one takes the next hit. However, that block, now at 2 strength, couldn't be used to absorb a hit until the other 2 blocks also took a hit each to bring ALL the blocks to the same level again (2).
original thread, with some INVALID OBJECT ID=1087246, type=article on not attacking directly

Rearguards

I have a question on Rearguards, rule 6.41 page 15. My opponent used to play in the following manner when he wanted to get a certain unit out of a hex:

1.) Add another ( stronger or less valuable) unit to the battle hex
2.) Remove the first unit.

This way, according to him, he'd avoid a retreat and hence pursuit fire.

Exiting all units from a battle hex constitutes a Retreat, whether or not other friendly units enter that hex in the same movement phase (if they do it is a new engagement/forced combat).
Think of it as all units moving simultaneously -- no one is 'holding' the front line while the original units are leaving, so Pursuit Fire is in order. And if new units are rushing to fill the gap, they are in effect engaging the enemy forces already present there, who have 'taken over' control of the hex due to the exit of their former opposition.
original thread

Original Defender attacking in a fortress

What happens if the original defender of a fortress attacks the original attacker? For instance: a Russian 4 step infantry unit (being the original defender) in Leningrad attacks 3 4-step German infantry units and the 4-step German siege gun unit (being the original attacker). Does one of the German units (i.c. the largest unit) get the triple fire bonus?

No, 7.32 says "the largest defender (Original Defender only) of a Fortress fires TF," so no one gets TF in this case. (Not the Germans, because they're not the Original Defender, and not the Russians, because they're attacking instead of defending.)
original thread

Supply

Who checks when?

Ok, have I got the rule 10.4 right:

Suppose that I am Germany, blitzing and putting some Soviet units out of supply.

Is it correct that during my German Supply Phase, I only check the Soviet units? (and not my own)

Yes, you've got it right. (The "supply status" sidebar on that page is especially helpful, I think.)
original thread

Supply Attrition (Pg. 17, sidebar, bottom) - The text says that enemy units unsupplied by active units moving and cutting off their supply immediately suffer attrition. This is contrary to the entire section of supply rules that state more than once that supply status is only checked in the enemy Supply Phase.

I think "immediate" only means that they suffer attrition before they can try to move back into supply. Which is in accordance with the rules that you suffer attrition after your enemy's phase and not your own.
original thread

Does the railhead end in a friendly battle hex?

Yes. I think the only weird things about this railhead are that you can't end a rail move there (that would be engaging), and although you can begin a rail move there, you can't move your last unit out by rail (6.53 says you can disengage, but not retreat, by rail).
For an example of a railhead in a friendly battle hex, see p. 40. The Soviets have engaged the Axis at Vorshilovgrad, but that city is still a railhead.
original thread

Sea supply

The Germans have created a pocket of many Russian units in the area around Odessa. All Russian rail lines into Odessa are cut. Are the only supplied Russian units at the end of German movement those blocks within two hexes of Odessa, due to Sea supply between ports?

If Odessa isn't engaged, and you have sea supply to it (you do, from Sevastopol, etc.), then, as a port, it counts as part of a rail line (see 9.31), so the rail lines coming out of it can supply everybody.
Once Odessa is engaged, you're hosed: you can no longer trace supply out of it, and only one unit can receive siege supply (15.31), so he'll starve down to 1CV and then stay there until the enemy helps him along.
original thread

Siege supply

If a port in sea supply is engaged, it can support only a single 1 CV block (siege supply, 15.31). However, a nearby unit that can trace a supply line to that port still is fully supplied, as per 10.3.

Am I missing something?

Welllll... I agree that it could be stated more clearly, but I think 15.31's "only support one unit" bit means that other units can't use it as a supply source.
original thread
(There's a lot more on siege supply in this thread.)

Supply from Murmansk etc.

Say the Germans have surrounded a large Russian force and they could only be supplied from the areas/zones on the Northern edge of the map (Murmansk etc; which is what happened also in the actual war). Could this be done or would they be effectively cut off from supplies since according to the rules zones are out of play in Eastfront for all intents and purposes (rule 1.8).

In stand alone EF the Soviets must trace to Siberia without using the offboard areas, so no.
original thread

Production

Advance Arrival

Apparently it is possible to pay the cadre price of a reinforcement (once per production phase) for several months to advance its arrival by several months.
Advanced arrival of reinforcements
Mention of discussion in Columbia Games forum

Victory

How do Axis satellite VPs work?

Every eliminated Axis (German or satellite) is -2 VPs. Every expeditionary (red E) satellite unit that's not eliminated but is restricted is -1.
Satellite Unit VPs as the Axis Player

Other

What are the changes in the different versions of the rules?

There's a list of changes between EF1 and EF2 here, in the initial post under "The rules." There's a list of changes between EF2 1.01 and 1.02 here.
original thread, although that answer isn't in the thread.

Original attacker examining the original defender's upright units?

The original defender of a hex stands his blocks up after a round of battle to signify that he is the original defender.

Is the attacker allowed to examine the defender's blocks after he stands them back up after a round of battle (ongoing)?

Officially, no, but one person in the thread prefers to ignore that. :)
original thread, also talked about here

Voluntarily eliminating units

Can the owner voluntarily eliminate a unit in a battle hex?
Can the owner voluntarily eliminate a unit that's out of supply?
If it was in a cut-off fortress hex?

I assume the answers to all of your questions are yes, as 11.52 doesn't mention any restrictions on disbanding units.
original thread

Hex control

Rule 8.1. states that hex control is determined at the beginning of each phase and remains unchanged throughout this phase. So a passive unit that becomes engaged during an enemy movement phase still makes all hexes within its ZOC enemy hexes to the active player? In our specific case: The passive Russian unit's ZOC blocked a vital rail line and thus made an important German Rail move impossible. The German then sent units into the Russian hex to negate its ZOC. This was not correct, was it?

Right, the hex would continue to be controlled by the Russians for the rest of that movement phase. (And beyond, if no German unit had occupied or exerted a ZOC into the hex--remember that German units moving through the hex to engage the Russian unit don't change control of that hex.)
original thread

If the German player, at some point in the game, takes control of say Kharkov, but then later loses it and the supply route to it, does the Russian player actually have to move a unit to Kharkov before it begins producing for Russia again?

Yes, it remains Axis-controlled until the Soviets put a unit there (or a ZOC, if no Axis unit is exerting a ZOC there too). This is 8.34. In cases where it's not clear, we use beads to indicate hex control.
original thread

Occupied fortresses

Suppose that the Germans occupy a Russian fortress (Leningrad). Is the fortress then destroyed, or may the Germans also use the fortress benefits (TD and TF for the largest unit)?

A fortress is a fortress and it works either way. So Germans occupying a fortress enjoy the advantages of defending a fortress in the same way the Russians (being the original defenders) do.
original thread

Restricted satellites in campaign games

The scenario special rules for summer 43 state that Axis satellites are permanently restricted. Does this also apply to the campaign game? I believe the restriction applies because historically, these units were eliminated at Stalingrad. In our current campaign game, all of them are still in good order as of July '43. So do the restrictions apply anyway?

No, Axis Satellite units are only permanently restricted once they are eliminated (unless using variable historical exigencies found in EuroFront).
If you're just playing EastFront, the Italian unit should probably be vapourized at the start of the Sept.'43 turn since historically that's when Italy surrendered. I'm not sure if that bit of chrome made it into EFII, since I'm still using the original EastFront.
original thread

Threads which aren't included in this document

This list may not be complete, as I didn't start keeping track of this until midway through.

[What Links Here]