Article Edit | History | Editors

King of Siam FAQ RSS Feed

FAQ for K├Ânig von Siam
Various clarifications consolidated into a wiki page so that people can more easily find all the info in one place and update it.
List of game FAQs

Course of the game

Note that if you pass, you can still play a card on your next turn for the current province if one of the following players plays a card. The actions continue round and round the table until all players pass in a row.

Note that on your turn you can not play more than one card. But in the course of resolving a province, you may have many turns and can thus play more than one card while resolving a single province.

Actions

The discard piles are face-up, so you only see the last card played by each player. Thus there is officially a memory aspect to the game, but since the actions are all public knowledge, you can play with the discard piles visible or examinable if you prefer, as a variant.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/294066

"The action of the card is executed as far as legally possible." This rule can be a bit confusing. Note that if the action of a card is not possible, you may still play the card, doing as much of the action as is possible, and then you always take a follower from some province. (So you will have taken as many followers as you have played cards, regardless of the results or lack of results from the card actions.)

Examples of executing card actions "as far as legally possible":
See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/296789
and http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/483221

  • No Rama controlled province and Rama home province controlled by someone else: Do not place 2 Rama followers.
  • No Rama follower in the common pool when Khon-Thai card is played: Place only 2 followers (1 Lao and 1 Malai).
  • 2 vs 1 card, and no adjacent unresolved provinces left: Do not swap followers.
  • 2 vs 1 card, adjacent unresolved provinces left, but each has only 1 follower: Swap 1 for 1 follower.
  • 2 vs 1 card, adjacent unresolved provinces left, but all are empty except one: Swap 1 for 0. You can't choose 0 for 0.
  • 2 vs 1 card, adjacent unresolved provinces left, with 2, 1, and 0: Swap 2 for 1. You can't choose 1 for 1, 2 for 0, or 1 for 0.
  • 1 for 1 card, all but one unresolved province is empty: Swap 1 for 0.
  • Maharacha card played on the last power struggle: Do not change the order of power struggles.

A 1 vs. 1 and a 2 vs. 1 could be used to undo each other (in the unusual case where both provinces have only 1 follower.)
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/2348603

"The very last action card of a game may be played only if the player (or his partner) achieves victory by executing it" in fact only makes sense in the 3-player game, and is simply to prevent a non-winning player from kingmaking between the other 2 players.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/249554

Maharacha

If played on the last turn, of course no action occurs, but you take a follower from some province as usual.

The current province can be swapped with another (later) province, or two later provinces can be swapped.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/270570

Khon Thai

Move 3 followers (one of each color) from the pool to the map. There are no restrictions about whether they go into the same or different provinces.

1 vs. 1

You can swap followers from any two provinces (whether adjacent or not). The followers can be the same or different colors. (Obviously if they are the same color, then the effect as if you did nothing.)

If there are not 2 provinces with followers, you can still play the card with no effect, simply taking a follower from some province as usual.

A 1 vs. 1 cannot be played immediately after a previous one in such a way as to undo its effect. But if any player plays any other action between the two 1 vs. 1 cards, then such an undo is legal:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/196467

2 vs. 1

You can swap 2 followers from 1 province with 1 follower of an adjacent province. The followers can be the same or different colors.

If there are not 2 provinces with followers, you can still play the card with no effect, simply taking a follower from some province as usual. Or if there are only adjacent provinces with 1 follower, you can play the card and swap 1 follower from each, then take a follower from some province as usual.

If there exist a pair of adjacent provinces with 2 and 1 followers, and another pair with 1 and 1 followers, at the moment you play the card you must choose the 2 and 1 follower pair for the card's execution.

Note that a 2 vs. 1 cannot be played immediately after a previous one in such a way as to undo its effect. But if any player plays any other action between the two 2 vs. 1 cards, then such an undo is legal:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/196467

Rama/Lao/Malai:

These allow you to put followers in provinces that are adjacent to the appropriately colored circle. The presence of the appropriate colored circle in the province has no relevance. So on turn 1, for instance, you could not use the 2-red card to put 2 red followers in the red capital province, only in provinces adjacent to it.

Note that the printed circles in 3 provinces on the map can be replaced by other colored control markers (or British markers) as the game progresses, in which case they no longer count as their original color.

The two cubes do not have to be placed adjacend to the same province with a circle. Example: Yellow has two circle: One in province A and one in B. It is possible to use the action to put a follower to a province adjacent to A (but not to B) and the other in a province adjacend to B (but not to A).

If there are no provinces with a given colored circle, you can still play the card (placing no followers, and of course taking a follower from some province as usual).

It is possible to place 2 cubes in the same region adjacent to the appropriate colored circle.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/231780
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/294066

Completing a power-struggle

Note that after a province is resolved, its followers return to the common pool. (You can never later add followers to or remove followers from a resolved province. You can not swap its province tile with another province tile using Maharacha. The resolved province is now finished and inactive.)

Winning the Game

"If factions are tied, the winning faction is whichever of the tied factions was the last to gain control of a province." This rule applies not only for determining the winning (1st place) faction, but also for determining the 2nd place faction. E.g if Red has 4 provinces while Blue and Yellow each have 2, then Red is the winning faction, and whichever of Blue or Yellow was the last to gain a province is the second place faction. (The second place faction only matters if there is a tie among players for control of the first place faction.)
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/285758
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/316179

[What Links Here]