Article Edit | History | Editors

Kingdom Builder: Crossroads FAQ RSS Feed

FAQ for Kingdom Builder: Crossroads

Info taken from FAQs in file area and various forum threads, consolidated into a Wiki page so that people can more easily find all the info in one place and update it.

See Kingdom Builder FAQ for info about the base game Kingdom Builder.
See Kingdom Builder: Nomads FAQ for info about the first major expansion, Nomads.

List of game FAQs

Downloadable Rules PDF

http://queen-games.de/games.aspx?ProductId=89 (click the desired language icon)
Note: the current rulebook posted in the BGG Files page is the English misprint, not the correct rulebook.

Incorrect Rulebook in Print and PDF

Some games shipped with a misprinted rulebook, containing an earlier draft of the English rules. This should only apply to a small number of printed English rulebooks in Europe, but some have popped up in American stores. Furthermore, as this was also the first circulated PDF online, forum discussion prior to the game's release in May 2013 was based on this inaccurate draft. This faulty rulebook:

  • Incorrectly names the Fort location as the Outpost. (p. 2)
  • Does not include a note that "Warriors, wagons, and ships count as settlements." (p. 3)
  • Wrongly instructs players to remove all warriors, wagons, and ships from the game board prior to scoring. (p. 3)
  • Includes misleading wording on Task cards suggesting that they may be scored multiple times. (p. 4)

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1006582/few-rule-clarification-questions

Fort

The action includes both the terrain card draw and settlement placement. A player may not perform any unrelated action between drawing the terrain card and placing the settlement. Once the terrain card is drawn, the player cannot avoid placing the settlement (unless they have no settlements to place, or the rare situation where no empty spaces of that terrain exist). If the player has an Outpost Nomad tile, she may decide whether or not to use the Outpost action between terrain draw and placement.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1107223/aborting-fort-special-action
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1073279/when-declare-use-outpost-fort

Crossroads

The terrain card for the turn is fixed once the choice is made. The choice of which terrain card will be used can be delayed until some action depends on the terrain type of the turn. Until that point, both cards may be kept for consideration. Once that choice is made, it is set for everything (both the mandatory action and any other actions that relate to the terrain type of the turn).
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1156005/when-decide-terrain-card-crossroads-action

If you lose your crossroads ability before your next turn (e.g. someone uses sword against you), then you keep the 2 cards you drew at the end of your last turn, and choose from them as usual, but then revert to drawing only 1 card per turn.

City Hall

City hall is a configuration of 7 settlements which automatically fulfills the Fortress task.

The 7 settlements of City hall are considered to be placed simultaneously, so you might earn more than 2 points for Shepherds (Nomads expansion): "So, look at each of the 7 settlements, and if it isn't next to an empty space of that type, you get 2 VP, counting the City Hall-filled spots as not empty. This means the center space will always score 2 VP, and then the rest depend on the lay of the land."
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1076266/city-hall-tile-shepherd

Each of the (6 outer) settlements of City Hall could potentially give you points via Ambassador (Nomads expansion).
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/12851962#12851962

Warriors, Wagons, and Ships

The end-of-game trigger ignores Warriors, Wagons, and Ships.

Although these pieces are settlements, only the exhaustion of one player's forty ordinary settlements marks the final round of the game.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1184029/do-warrior-wagon-ship-count-settlement-when-determ

Warriors, Wagons, and Ships are all settlements, to which normal rules and effects on settlements apply.

Earlier versions of the rules (including some early printings of the English rulebooks) did not consider these pieces settlements. In the final version, however, other rules will treat these pieces as settlements in most respects (excluding the end-of-game trigger noted above). This means, for example, that a ship can be moved onto land with a Paddock action, and a wagon can be moved into the water with a Harbor action. Just as in the Nomads expansion, these pieces do not count for Miners if they are on Mountain hexes.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/976693/are-ships-warriors-wagons-settlements
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1195525/does-starting-hex-matter-when-moving-pieces
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1075856/seeking-clarification-extent-new-pieces-count-sett
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1439075/wagon-and-miners

Wagon and Ship move without regard to adjacency or this turn's terrain.

"Every turn, the wagon can move through empty spaces with desert, flowers, grass, forest, canyons, and mountains, regardless of the terrain you drew." Similar reasoning applies to adjacency and ship movement.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1027843/wagon-movement-adjacency

Warrior does not block its own movement when moved.

"You pick up the warrior, then place it (when using a movement ability to move it). When you pick it up it's not on the board and not blocking spaces. This means a warrior can be moved to an adjacent space." Similarly, the warrior may be moved via caravan.
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/12284203#12284203

Warrior does not prevent removal of pieces or Paddock jumps.

The warrior does not block adjacent settlements from being picked up, whether they are being removed by Sword or moved by other means. Via the Paddock action, a settlement may jump over (but not into) a hex blocked by a Warrior.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1087523/withdrawing-warrior
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1072630/using-movement-abilitiy-ship-move-trough-water-hex

Losing a warrior/wagon/ship action token

Losing an ability for wagon/warrior/ship/city hall does not cause any such placed pieces to be removed.
You simply lose the actions which you could perform with those pieces. They remain in place on the board.
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/13867968#13867968

"Eligible" spaces = 5 basic terrain types

A space "eligible for building" means a space of one of the 5 basic terrain types. (This is somewhat defined in the original Kingdom Builder rules.)

Task Cards

Each task card may only be scored once per player.

Some of the printed card text is not ideal, but the final rulebook has the correct wording. "Each player who meets a task card’s requirement earns the reward. Meeting a card’s requirement more than once does not increase the amount of gold earned." (p. 4)

It does not matter whether settlements are built or moved into position.

The Advance and Compass cards and rulebook descriptions use the word "built", but those settlements can also be moved into position. What matters is the status of your settlements at the end of the game.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1188484/compass-and-advance

Home country

Home country can be fulfilled by filling all of some connected water or mountain regions.
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/975263/task-card-home-country-and-watermountain-hexes

Fortress

City hall is a configuration of 7 settlements which automatically fulfills the Fortress task.

Place of refuge

"Completely surrounded" means you must have 6 of your settlements surrounding the location. If some of the adjacent spaces are mountain or water, then you need to somehow get a settlement onto them to fulfill the task.

Compass points

If all 4 of the map edges have at least one piece in your color, then you fulfilled the task. As the rules explicitly note, a piece in a corner space is simultaneously on 2 map edges. So in principle you could fulfill the task with only 2 pieces (in opposite corners).

[What Links Here]