Article Edit | History | Editors

No Retreat! FAQ RSS Feed

This is a list of the frequently asked questions for No Retreat! The Russian Front. At the bottom are all questions about specific cards (once they eventually get entered).

List of game FAQs


Base Game Rules

Replacing & Upgrading Units

Q: Can I place a unit in a city inside an EZOC?
A: No. See rules section 7.6 in the v3 edition of the rules - which changed from previous editions that allowed Soviet units to be placed in cities in EZOC's.

Q: What if there is no legal hex for Unit Placement [7.6]?
A: The unit is put in the Shattered Units Box. See http://boardgamegeek.com/article/9144712

Q: Does a city inside an EZOC provide supply for other cities/units?
A: Only if there is a friendly unit inside the city. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/7728915#7728915

Q: Can a replacement cancelled by a card event be rebuilt (if the costs are paid again?)
A: Yes.

Q: Do regional infantry units have to appear in their named city?
A: No, they can appear in any legal location.

Q: Can the Soviets pay to upgrade extra units when they get free upgrades?
A: No (except for fortresses). Before T17, the only units you can pay cards to upgrade are Fortresses, as your units only have one step. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/8043914#8043914 for a nice Q&A on this issue.

Brittle Russian Units

Q: What happens when a brittle, red-side up unit is eliminated?
A: It goes to the DD/DS or surrendered box red side up, and will return that way. The unit only has one step, it just happens to be a stronger step. Two step units (fortresses prior to 1944 and all soviet units after that) go into the DS/DD/Surrendered boxes brown side up.

Supply & OOS Units

Q: What if a unit is OOS during the Removal Phase, but was in supply earlier?
A: Nothing. You only place OOS markers during the Supply Phase. It may, of course, be OOS on the next turn.

Q: What happens when both players have OOS units during a supply check?
A: In the Supply Check Phase and the Removal Phase, the phasing player's units are checked first, followed by the non-phasing players units. The phasing player's OOS units lose their zone of control and get removed first, which may (or may not) allow the non-phasing player's units to be in supply.

Q: What happens to OOS units that are removed via overstacking?
A: They go to the destroyed box, not the surrendered box. No VP are scored. This is an exception specifically mentioned by 8.4.3; normally an OOS destroyed for any reason (combat, card, or final supply checks) surrender (some units go to the turn track instead of surrendering). See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/7985355#7985355

Q: Why is Leningrad in supply on the example in p. 5?
A: Cities can trace as long a supply path as they need (but only the appropriate direction). Units can only trace supply for 4 hexes.

Combat

Q: What happens if the odds are worse than 1:3?
A: The combat automatically gets a CA result.

Q: Can a unit retreat into unfought battles?
A: Yes. A unit may only attack once/turn, but it can defend multiple times. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/7923940#7923940

Q: Can the non-phasing player use a support marker in a counterattack?
A: Yes.

Q: If I attack with both Soviet Shock Armies in the same battle, do I get a 2-shift bonus?
A: No, just one shift. See http://boardgamegeek.com/article/8386510#8386510

Multi-Hex attacks/defends

Q: Which terrain do you use if multiple hexes are being attacked?
A: Defender chooses. 10.6.1 should read -- "Terrain Effects: The shifts caused due to terrain effects are based upon the defender’s hex or if all units attack across the hexsides listed on the TEC. If more than one hex is attacked at the same time, the defender choses a simgle one that will be used for TEC effects."

Q: What if I have two counterblows and there is only a single counter that can attack, and it can attack both hexes?
A: That counter must attack both hexes. The defender's unit power is combined.

Q: If you attack multiple hexes and advance after combat, which hex do you make your first advance into?
A: Attacker chooses. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/704570/clarification-on-counterattacking-multiple-hexs

Counterblows

Q: When I discard a card to counterblow, whose marker do I use?
A: Your own. This is implied and shown in examples, but not quite clear in the rules. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/695890/counterblow-markers. German (Grey-Green) counterblows are only placed on Axis units, Soviet (Red) counterblows are only placed on Russian units.

Q: Which units can respond to counterblows?
A: Any adjacent units, including white strength or disorganized. See 10.1.2, 6th bullet ("Any of the Phasing Player’s adjacent units can respond to a Counterblow, including Disorganized units and those with white Combat Strengths.")

Q: Can I (the phasing player) use a support marker on a counterblow?
A: Yes. It was an involuntary combat (either from last player turn or because the non-phasing player discarded to place a counter blow marker this turn), but it's follows the normal procedures (modified by the unit exceptions above).

Q: If tanks are attacking an infantry unit in a non-clear hex during a counterblow, do they get the armor bonus?
A: No. The terrain advantage is negated, but to get the armor bonus the infantry has to be in a clear hex. See 10.6.3 or 14.3 for clarification.

Advance after combat

Q: Does advancing into an EZOC end a multi-hex advance?
A: No. Advancing uses different rules than movement (counts hexes, not MPs). See 10.8.

Detraining

Q: Can you detrain into an empty enemy city?
A: No. The Living rules were modified to prevent this. Also note that you can't use a just captured city as a supply source for purposes of detraining.

Victory and VPs

Q: When do I update VPs?
A: You can update them immediately or at the end of turn. Note that the square VP marker is always equal to the initiative players number of cities (and oil fields) plus the value of the round VP marker. The Round VP marker is used to track 'non-map' VPs (events and surrendered units), so the square marker's correct value can always be recomputed at any point by inspection. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/695827/when-to-credit-vps

Special Units

Q: Does it take both free upgrades to improve a Soviet Shock unit?
A: No. If you are paying cards, it costs two cards to upgrade (or replace the unit, if its on the red side), but the free upgrade is always free.

Q: Are Volkssturm units treated like Fortified Infantry?
A: No, they aren't forts. They are units that have the specific ability of cancelling a DR (at the cost of being eliminated).

Scenario Questions

Q: Why does Barbarossa/The Campaign start with the Germans at 12 VPs? Isn't it 13?
A: Finland only counts for a VP when it is occupied by a non-Axis Minor, non-Cadre unit. See 12.7.2 and 12.7.5.

Map, Terrain, & Components Questions

Q: If some but not all units are attacking across a river, does the terrain shift apply?
A: No, see 10.6.1 (listed above in Multi-Hex attacks, as well).

Q: The rules list 4 hexes adjacent to Finland, but I only see 3.
A: The map was changed and the rulebook wasn't updated. Oops.

Q: Does the shift for Objective hexes apply to both sides? The TEC chart only shows one color.
A: Yes, all objective hexes get the shift.

Q: Why do I have duplicate counters for Bryansk and others?
A: One set uses NATO symbols, the other uses tank pictures. Pick the one you want to use.

Weather

Q: How does Long Winter flip? The rules are confusing.
A: Here's another way to think of it (suggested by Allen Doum) -- "There are three types of weather: Clear, Mud, and Winter. A Winter turn that follow either Clear or Mud is resolved as a Snow turn. A Winter turn that follow another Winter turn is resolved as a Long Winter turn. Both Snow and Long Winter turns on the Turn Record are Winter for this purpose." See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/714252/long-winter-revisited

Q: If the Long Winter in Jan/Feb '42 becomes snow, does the -2 modifier against Soviet units become -1?"
A: No. That's a special rule based on the turn, not the weather chit.

Q: Does Weather affect a counterblow?
A: Yes. Terrain doesn't affect counterblows, but weather does.

Questions about Cards

Cards that can be played at any time will say so. For example, 'Walter Model'.

Q: If two cards conflict, how do I resolve it?
A: In general, the later played card wins.

Q: Can I play a card in the commitment step of battle, then another card that affects the battle later?
A: Assuming that the 2nd card can be played outside of the commitment step, yes. The rule is 1 card per commitment step.
See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/702670/events-in-battle

Q: If a card gives one MP, can a unit make a move that costs 2 MP or more, since "a unit may always move one hex"?
A: NO. The card trumps the rules. The card would say "Move one hex" if it wanted you to ignore MPs. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/702123/german-events-39-operationnal-moves-and-43-panzerb

Q: If a card is played in the discard phase, can I play it after I draw my new hand?
A: No. To play this card, you have to hold it until the turn after you draw it, and then play it before you draw your new cards. But you can play it after you've discarded down to the two card limit, and the limit is only checked once. This applies to "Summer Campaign" and "Major Offensive".

Q: Can you play a card that converts DRs to EXs after you see the result of a die roll?
A: No. The card does not say "Play after a die roll."

Specific Cards

(Note -- Please put all questions about the same card together. Cards are ordered by number.)

Note that "General Mud" (#12) has errata and should say 'General Mud: Play this card immediately and then draw a new one. If next turn has variable weather, then flip its Weather marker to Mud.'

Q: Can "Troop Transfer" (German #3??) improve a unit as well as replace it?
A: Yes! (Somewhat surprising, but confirmed by designer ...) http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/7543756#7543756

Q: What is the definition of "friendly hex" for Maskirovka (Card #4)?
A: It's on page 24 of the living rule book. For your convenience, it says -- "Consider that a "friendly" hex in this case is any hex, OVERLAND SUPPLIED, that a unit could have regularly moved into (give unlimited movement points to the unit), obeying all the movement rules, from one of your supply sources (the board edge or a city)."

Q: When does a 'Scorched Earth' marker get removed (Card #7)?
A: They are removed during the marker removal phase at the end of the player turn following capture. So if the Germans capture a scorched city during the German player turn on Game Turn 2, they remove the marker at the end of the Soviet player turn of Game Turn 2. (If the capture it during Soviet-2, they remove the marker at the end of German-3). See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/692420/card-7-scorched-earth-question

Q: "New Tank Design" (German Card #8): Must the German player have an armor unit in the battle to use the card?
A: No, you do not need an armor unit to get the bonus, or to cancel the bonus of the Soviets. See http://boardgamegeek.com/article/9135682

Q: If a unit is removed OOS by "Kesselschlact" (German #10), does it go to the surrendered box (for 1VP)?
A: Yes. (Assuming the unit does not have special rules, like Cadres, etc that put it on the turn track instead).

Q: How does "Summer Campaign" (German Card #13) work?
A: You discard down to two cards (Summer Campaign is one of the two remaining cards in hand), then you play the Summer campaign card and draw the three cards, then draw your regular four cards. You end up with eight cards. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/706018/german-event-13-summer-campaign

Q: For "Prepared Offensive" (Card #14), when you retreat the overstacked counters, is it a one or two hex retreat?
A: One. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/7713346#7713346

Q: How does "NKVD" work? (Card #19)
A: The combat is a straight die roll, loser takes a step loss with no retreats/advances. If that roll is a tie, then you go to the normal combat procedure. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/697331/soviet-card-19-nkvd

Q: How does "Major Offensive" work?
A: Similar to "Summer Campaign" (German Card #13), above.

Q: In response to a Soviet event, can I play "OKH" (Card #21) to get a card out of the discard to cancel it?
A: No. By the time you retrieve the card, the event has happened. See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/725805/okh

Q: What does 'at the conclusion of combat' mean (Card #24)?
A: The wording on the card is "at the conclusion of the Combat PHASE", so after all the combats are done: you cannot make a unit appear right away after one battle; but at the end of the combat Phase only (so also after all the advances after combat are done, too). See http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/7842618#7842618.

Q: Why does the "Walter Model" (Card #29) doubling of strength matter if you've already calculated odds?
A: You recalculate using the new defensive strength (with the same shifts), and then apply the result with the (already rolled) die.

Q: Does "Last Reserves" (Card #30) replace one or two surrendered units?
A: Two. It gives 2 replacements, and doesn't care where they come from. Cards trump rules, as per 5.3.2.

Q: How does "Hedgehogs" work? (Card #38)
A: The intended effect of this card was that it would take effect instead of a regular attack: so you just roll the dice for casualties and you do not resolve the attack. See http://boardgamegeek.com/article/7826487#7826487

Q: "Volkssturm Levies" (Card #49): Are the units free even if destroyed, surrendered?
A: Yes. Cards take precedence over the rules as per 5.3.2.

[What Links Here]