Article Edit | History | Editors

Tapestry FAQ RSS Feed

This FAQ for Tapestry is an unofficial collection of card rulings found in the forums here and on the Tapestry Facebook Group.

List of game FAQs

General

Q: Are Territory tiles discarded back to the pool?
A: Just to a discard pile. If you run out of the main pool of tiles, you can shuffle the discards back in.

Q: Can benefits be taken in any order?
A: Yes, unless otherwise specified.

Q: What is the timing of gaining Landmarks (before or after benefits/bonuses)?
A: First! Before benefits/bonuses

Q: After Dictatorship tech card is played, are mandatory advancements no longer mandatory, or do they override the Dicatorship's lock? Examples are the Renaissance, Socialism, Age of Discovery, and Dark Ages tech cards.
A:

Civilizations


Alchemists

Text: The Alchemists love to push their luck in the hopes of accelerated advancement. At the beginning of your income turns (2-5), roll the science die and mark the result here with a player token. You may then roll again or stop.

If you roll an advancement you've already rolled, you bust. Remove all tokens and gain [RESOURCE] as consolation for your terrible luck. Otherwise, when you stop, you may advance on each of the advancement tracks you rolled (don't gain benefits or bonuses). Then remove all tokens.

Each time the final results of this ability would push you off the end of a track, gain <<5>>.

[EXPLORATION X] [TECHNOLOGY X]
[SCIENCE X] [MILITARY X]

Civilization Adjustment: When starting the game with the Alchemists, gain any 2 resources (don’t do this if you gain the Alchemists during the game).

Rulings:


Architects

Text: The Architects value an organized and structured capital city.

Each time you complete a district, if all income buildings in it are identical, gain +1 [RESOURCE]. There must be at least 1 income building in that district.

Whenever you score your capital city (<<[CITY]>>), for each complete row/column where all the income buildings are identical (min. 1), that row/column is worth <<2>>, not <<1>>.

If you gain this civilization in the middle of the game, you may immediately swap the positions of 2 income buildings in your capital city. You may then repeat this up to 2 more times.

Civilization Adjustment: When starting the game with the Architects with 3 or more total players, gain 10 VP per opponent (don’t do this if you gain the Architects during the game).

Rulings:


The Chosen

Text: The Chosen seek glory unmatched by other civilizations, whom they look down upon with a mixture of bewilderment and pity.

At the beginning of your income turns (2-5):

  • For each advancement track you've completed or where there are no further-advanced tokens than yours, gain <<1>> per opponent.
  • For each achievement you've earned, gain [RESOURCE]. If it's your final income turn, instead gain <<5>> per achievement earned.

Civilization Adjustment: When starting the game with The Chosen, gain 15 VP per opponent (The Chosen cannot be gained during the game).

Rulings:


Craftsmen

Text: The Craftsmen want to create a wonder of the world, a massive statue. You may place income buildings here as an alternative to your capital city. You must place each building on the lowest available space in a column of your choice (you don't need to finish a column before starting another). As you cover a benefit, gain it immediately.

This grid counts as part of your capital city for building related benefits (e.g., <<[HOUSE]>>), but it does not score for completed rows and columns here.

<<15>>
<<10>> [RESEARCH]
<<5>> [UPGRADE] [CULTURE]
[TERRITORY] [INVENT] [TAPESTRY]
[WORKER] [GOLD] [FOOD]

Civilization Adjustment: When starting the game or gaining the Craftsmen, lose any 1 resource (if possible). If you start with the Craftsmen, choose the lost resource after your first income turn.

Rulings:


Entertainers

Text: The Entertainers seek to spread their influence by entertaining various sectors of society. Start with a player token on the far left. At the beginning of your income turns (2-5), advance the token one space to the right along a path and gain the benefit.

If you gain this civilization in the middle of the game, start with a player token on any space here and gain the benefit.

Civilization Adjustment: N/A

Rulings:


Futurists

Text: The Futurists mysteriously began their civilization with significant advancements.

When you gain this civilization: Advance on each track by exactly 4 spaces (with the end of each track as the limit). Do not gain benefits, bonuses, or landmarks. Also, gain 1 of each resource.

Civilization Adjustment: When starting the game or gaining the Futurist’s starting benefits, lose 1 culture and any other 1 resource of your choice.

Rulings:
Q: Are Futurists prohibited from ever receiving passed landmarks?
A: No

Q: Are passed landmarks removed from the game?
A: No (same answer as above)


Heralds

Text: The Heralds proclaim their achievements worldwide. Start with 4 player tokens here. If you start the game with this civilization, at the end of your first income turn, you may play a tapestry card on top of Maker of Fire.

At the beginning of your income turns (2-5), you may move a player token from here to any "when played" tapestry card (yours or an opponent's). Gain the benefits of that card. Each tapestry may have at most 1 token.

Civilization Adjustment: When starting the game or gaining the Heralds, lose 15 VP. Thus, the Heralds start the game with -15 VP.

Rulings:
Only exposed tapestry cards can be copied (i.e. not covered ones)


Historians

Text: The Historians want to witness the achievements of other civilizations. Start with these 4 squares covered with your player tokens. At the beginning of your income turns (2-5), you may discard 1 territory tile from your supply to give a token to any opponent (even if they already have a token). This represents a historian you're sending to that civilization.

Whenever any opponent with your token gains a landmark, gain all of these exposed benefits.

If you gain this civilization in the middle of the game, immediately give 4 of your player tokens to opponents, leaving the squares exposed on this mat.

<<3>> [FOOD]
[WORKER] <<3>>

Civilization Adjustment: N/A

Rulings:


Inventors

Text: The Inventors start with 4 player tokens here. At the beginning of your income turns (2-5), you may move a player token from here to any tech card (yours or an opponent's). That card is instantly upgraded, and it ignores top-row prerequisites. If it is an opponent's tech card, you may gain the benefit after they do (if it's your card, gain the benefit as normal).

Whenever an opponent's tech card with your token on it is upgraded to the top row, the opponent gains the benefit and then you gain the tech card, placing it on your bottom row. Your token remains on it. Landmarks on tech cards already gained by the opponent do nothing for you.

Civilization Adjustment: N/A

Rulings:
Q: Are the top-row prerequisites ignored for the rest of the game?
A: Yes


Isolationists

Text: The Isolationists just want to be left alone. Start with 4 player tokens here.

Whenever you conquer an empty territory, you may place 1 of these tokens there in addition to your outpost, preventing that territory from being conquered in the future. If you do, gain [RESOURCE].

On your final income turn, score <<>> for the largest connected land mass of the same terrain type you control:

1 2 3 4 5 6
<<5>> <<10>> <<16>> <<23>> <<31>> <<40>>

EXAMPLE: Your largest land mass is grasslands (3 connected territories equals <<16>>).

Civilization Adjustment: N/A

Rulings:
Water does not count as a "land mass."


Leaders

Text: The Leaders excel at cultivating the leadership abilities of their citizens.

At the beginning of your income turns (2-5), you may place a player token on a uncovered leader (square on this mat) to advance for free on the corresponding track. Gain the benefit, but you may not gain the bonus.

[EXPLORATION] [TECHNOLOGY]
[SCIENCE] [MILITARY]

Civilization Adjustment: N/A

Rulings:


Merrymakers

Text: The Merrymakers frequently celebrate love and life; the longer the festival, the better.

Start with 1 player token at the bottom of each track. At the beginning of your income turns (2-5), select 1 token to advance upwards and gain the first benefit it lands on.

[CULTURE] [ARMORY] [EXPLORE] [RESEARCH] <<15>>
[WORKER] [FOOD] [INVENT] [TAPESTRY] <<10>>
[GOLD] [TERRITORY] <<5>>

Civilization Adjustment: When starting the game or gaining the Merrymakers, gain any 1 resource.

Rulings:


Militants

Text: The Militants seek to reap the benefits of the territories they control. Start with 8 outposts covering the spaces on this card. Whenever you conquer, take an outpost from the far left of either row here. At the beginning of your income turns, gain all of the exposed benefits.

If you gain this civilization in the middle of the game, place your remaining outposts on these spaces from right to left (you choose the row for each outpost).

[GOLD] <<2>> [FOOD] <<4>>
<<1>> [WORKER] <<3>> [CULTURE]

Civilization Adjustment: N/A

Rulings:


Mystics

Text: The Mystics boast of their ability to predict the future (they're actually just good planners). When you gain this civilization, use player tokens to select a number in each of these categories. When you reach that number the first time, gain [RESOURCE]. On your final income turn, for each category you predicted exactly correct, gain <<10>>.

If you gain this civilization in the middle of the game, discard it and gain another.

[TECHNOLOGY] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Complete Districts 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
[CONTROLLED HEX] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
[COMPLETED TRACKS] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Civilization Adjustment: N/A

Rulings:


Nomads

Text: The Nomads prefer to expand their civilization outwards rather than focusing on their capital city.

Whenever you gain a building or landmark, you may place it either in your capital city or on the map in 1 or 2 locations:

  • On a territory you control containing exactly 1 other token (outpost or building). If you do, gain [RESOURCE]. Opponents can't conquer these territories.
  • On an empty territory adjacent to one you control. This gives you control of that territory, but it is not a conquer action. It is considered an outpost if an opponent conquers it.

You may still gain <<>> for buildings (i.e., <<HOUSE>>) whether they're on the map or in your capital city.

Civilization Adjustment: N/A

Rulings:


Traders

Text: The Traders prefer to connect with other civilizations economically, not militarily. Start with 4 player tokens here.

At the beginning of your income turns (2-5), you may place a player token from here on any territory on the map matching one of these descriptions:

  • Empty territory: Gain <<1>> per adjacent territory controlled by opponents. If an opponent later conquers this territory, you may gain the benefit of any unselected conquer die as if you rolled it.
  • Territory with exactly 1 opponent outpost token and nothing else: Gain the benefit on the territory (if any).

Remember that a territory with 2 tokens (of any type) on it cannot be conquered.

Civilization Adjustment: When starting the game with the Traders, gain any 2 resources (don’t do this if you gain the Traders during the game).

Rulings:

Tapestry Cards

THIS ERA Tapestry cards remain in effect until the beginning of your next income turn.

Card Duration Card text Solo? Notes
Academia THIS ERA Whenever you invent [TECHNOLOGY] or gain [TAPESTRY], gain <<3>>. Y
Age of Discovery WHEN PLAYED Roll the science die. All Players must advance on the resulting track; only you gain the benefit (you may pay to gain the bonus). Y If multiple players qualify to gain the landmark, progress in player order, starting with current player.
Age of Sail THIS ERA Whenever you explore, draw a total of 3[TERRITORY]. Before you place a [TERRITORY], you may give 1[TERRITORY] to an opponent to gain <<3>>. N The 3 drawn are in ADDITION to tiles that may be drawn as part of a separate "gain territory" action associated with the explore
Age of Wonders WHEN PLAYED Gain 2[RESOURCE] if you have the fewest landmarks. If you have the most landmarks, gain <<12>>. Otherwise (and for ties), gain 1[RESOURCE] and <<6>>. Y
Alliance THIS ERA Choose an opponent. You cannot conquer each other's territories. Whenever they upgrade a [TECHNOLOGY], you gain the benefit after they do. N
Boast of Superiority WHEN PLAYED For each advancement track where there are no further-advanced tokens than yours, gain <<4>>. Y
Broker of Peace THIS ERA You cannot advance on the military track. Each time an opponent advances on the military track, you gain <<3>>. Y
Capitalism THIS ERA When you gain income, gain <<2>> per [COIN] earned. Whenever you gain [MARKET], also gain [COIN]. Y "Gain income" specifically refers to the 4th step in the income turn.
Coal Baron WHEN PLAYED Gain 1[TERRITORY] and explore with it. Your neighbors then each gain 1[TERRITORY]. N
Colonialism WHEN PLAYED Choose a territory tile you control and gain each of the following resources based on its land terrain(s): mountain ([WORKER]), grassland ([CULTURE]), forest ([FOOD]), desert ([COIN]). Y Only works on territory *tiles*, cannot be used on pre-printed territory hexes.
Dark Ages WHEN PLAYED Regress once on 3 different advancement tracks if possible, then advance three times on the remaining track. Do not gain any benefits or bonuses. Y If you are on the beginning of a track, you can still use that as "regressing" without actually moving the token.
Democracy WHEN PLAYED Draw 3 [TAPESTRY], then discard any number of [TAPESTRY] from your hand to gain <<2>> each. Y
Dictatorship WHEN PLAYED Advance on any track and gain the benefit (you may pay to gain the bonus). Opponents may not advance on that track until after your next turn. N You cannot CHOOSE not to take a benefit, but are not otherwise prevented from taking the advancement if unable to do so
Diplomacy WHEN PLAYED Each player gains [RESOURCE]. You also gain 1 building from your income mat. N
Dystopia WHEN PLAYED Gain any landmark from the landmark board and place it in your capital city. Y
Empiricism THIS ERA If you advance on the science track, gain <<2>>. Whenever you roll the science die, instead roll it twice and choose 1 result. Y
Espionage WHEN PLAYED Copy the ability of any [TAPESTRY] on an income mat. N Tapestry cards that have been covered (e.g. via Nuclear Bomb) can not be copied.
Exploitation THIS ERA Whenever you place a [TERRITORY] on the board, you may gain double the benefit on the tile. If you do, do not gain <<>>. Y
Feudalism WHEN PLAYED Either gain [RESOURCE] or <<3>> for each of you landmarks. Y Max of 1 RESOURCE, not 1 per landmark.
Golden Age THIS ERA Ignore upgrade prerequisites on tech cards. Whenever you upgrade, gain <<3>>. Y
Guilds WHEN PLAYED Pay <<5>>/<<10>>/<<15>> to gain 1/2/3 [RESOURCE] or pay 1/2/3 [RESOURCE] to gain <<5>>/<<10>>/<<15>>. You cannot spend VP you don't have. Y
Industrialism THIS ERA Whenever you invent a [TECHNOLOGY], gain the [CIRCLE] benefit on it. The card remains in the bottom row for now. Y
Marriage of State THIS ERA Choose a track and an opponent. After they gain any benefit on that track, you gain it too (do not gain the bonus). N Cannot form an infinite loop with Espionage.
Mercantilism THIS ERA When you gain income, you may convert [FOOD] to any other resource. For each [FOOD] you convert, gain <<2>>. Y "Gain income" specifically refers to the 4th step in the income turn.
Meritocracy WHEN PLAYED Invent [TECHNOLOGY], then gain <<2>> for each of your [TECHNOLOGY]. Y
Militarism THIS ERA Whenever you explore a territory, you may place an outpost on the newly explored territory. Y
Monarchy THIS ERA Whenever you place an income building in your capital city, gain <<3>>. Y
Oil Magnate WHEN PLAYED Choose an advancement track. Your neighbors and you may advance on that track; only you gain the benefit &amp; may pay to gain the bonus (if any). N
Olympic Host WHEN PLAYED In order starting with you, each player may pay [WORKER] to gain <<10>>. If at least 1 opponent does this, you gain 1 building from your income mat. If no opponents do this, you gain [COIN]. N
Pillage and Plunder THIS ERA Whenever you conquer an opponent's territory, gain the results of both conquer dice. Traps cannot be played against you. Y
Pirate Rule THIS ERA Whenever you conquer a territory tile, gain the benefit on that tile (in addition to the benefit of the conquer dice). Y
Plea for Aid WHEN PLAYED For each track where all tokens are more advanced than yours, gain <<2>> and [RESOURCE]. Y
Renaissance WHEN PLAYED Advance on each track exactly once. Do not gain the benefits. You may gain any resulting bonuses for free. Y
Revisionism THIS ERA Whenever you gain a landmark on a track, also gain [RESOURCE]. If you reach an already claimed landmark on a track, gain [ARMORY]. Y
Revolution WHEN PLAYED Gain [RESOURCE] OR choose up to 3 territories containing your toppled outposts. Stand up these outposts and topple those opponent outposts. Y Toppling in itself is not a Conquering action. This card's actions do not fulfill the requirements for the achievements of conquering two opponents' outposts nor conquering the center hex.
Socialism WHEN PLAYED Choose an advancement track. Advance or regress (your choice) to match the closest opponent. Do not gain the benefit/bonus. Y An opponent on the same space as you does not count as "closest". Choose advance or regress. Then move to closest opponent in that direction.
Steam Tycoon WHEN PLAYED Invent a face-up [TECHNOLOGY] and upgrade it. Your neighbors (right, then left) then each invent [TECHNOLOGY] from top of deck. N It's optional for your neighbors to gain the Technology card.
Technocracy WHEN PLAYED If you are the first player to enter this era, gain [TECHNOLOGY] and upgrade it. If you are not the first player to enter this era, gain <<3>> per opponent in the game. Y
Terraforming THIS ERA You may construct buildings on impassable land in your capital city. Whenever you do, gain <<5>>. Y Gain <<5>> once per build, not once per impassable land covered.
Theocracy THIS ERA You cannot advance on the science track. Whenever you enter any new advancement tier (I-IV), gain <<4>>. Y
Trade Economy WHEN PLAYED Choose the current position of an opponent on any advancement track. You gain the corresponding benefit. If there is a bonus, that opponent gains it for free. N
Tyranny THIS ERA If you gain a [TAPESTRY], you may immediately play it on top of this card. The first and only time you do, gain <<5>>. Y You may play the tapestry card that you gain during income step of the era that you play Tyranny.
Wartime Economy THIS ERA All bonuses that cost [RESOURCE] are free. Example: [RESOURCE]:[TAPESTRY]. Y
Trap Special You may discard this card from your hand when an opponent tries to conquer your territory. If you do, gain [RESOURCE] and topple their outpost. -2 Cannot be played as a Trap after your 5th income turn.
Trap WHEN PLAYED If Played as a Tapestry card, gain <<10>>

Easter Eggs

Spoilers

[What Links Here]