Article Edit | History | Editors

Tomb FAQ RSS Feed

FAQ for Tomb
Various clarifications consolidated into a wiki page so that people can more easily find all the info in one place and update it.
List of game FAQs

NOTE: AEG has approved this FAQ, and asked that it be posted officially. Thanks for all the feedback on it.

- A CHARACTER can attach a bow, shield, armor, glove, helm, AND weapon, but NEVER two items with traits of one type. This limitation applies to Item cards AND Treasures that list traits (the Treasure must list the trait on the card to have it apply). This limitation does not apply to MONSTERS (e.g. Monsters in a crypt can draw two item cards due to a special ability and they may attach both without restriction). Note that if a Monster moves to a player's party, it is now considered a Character, and the restriction will apply, forcing it to immediately discard a card if it violates the restriction.

- Spells, prayers, and tactics can only be used ONCE per turn (and once per TRIGGERED EVENT), whether or not they are triggered at the TURN, BATTLE, or REACT stage. This limitation does not apply to monsters, character abilities, items, or treasures. For innate abilities that can occur multiple times, you cannot keep re-rolling a react ability until you succeed, as this would mean using the ability multiple times for the same event trigger.

- A particular character can cast as many spells, prayers, or tactics as you want in the same turn, provided no single spell, prayer, or tactic is used more than once in the turn. There is no limit to the number of attached spell, prayer, or tactics a character can use, nor how many of these can be played from your hand on a turn.

- Crypts are no longer crypts when they are empty. They are HALLWAY spaces. Cards and abilities that target crypts CANNOT target empty crypts. This distinction prevents some cards from creating infinite loops.

- Spells and tactics that have not been cast are face down (in your hand).

- Once a spell or tactic is cast, it MUST be attached to the casting character immediately unless the card says "Discard This Card", in which case you must STILL designate which character is casting the spell, and then it is discarded upon use. Attached spells and tactics are always face up, and cannot be discarded once attached (unless a card effect says otherwise, or the character returns to the inn, or is killed).

- Items are attached immediately when drawn from the inn. If an item cannot be attached due to trait restrictions, it must be discarded.

- Attached cards can never be "dropped". If a party wins a treasure, or draws an inn card with a duplicate trait (shield, weapon, bow, glove, helm, or armor), an attached card can be discarded, and replaced with the new card. However, other than replacing an item with a duplicate trait, attached cards are permanent, and can never be dropped unless a card, spell, or ability says otherwise.

- Attached cards can be shifted at the beginning of the turn as one of the free actions. Note that this does not mean a card can be dropped. Spells can be shifted between characters so long as characters that receive spells have magic dice (for spell cards) or holiness dice (for prayer cards).

- If an attached card is attached ONLY because of another attached card that gives you an ability, shifting or otherwise removing the card giving you the ability will cause the dependent card to be discarded. For example, if your fighter has a card giving him one magic, and he also attaches a spell as a result, shifting or removing the card giving magic points will cause the spell card to have to be discarded. If you are shifting, the solution is to shift the spell card to another character with magic dice FIRST, then remove the magic-granting attached card last.

- Spell cards can be cast by any character with at least one MAGIC die. Prayer cards can be cast by any character with at least one HOLINESS die. Tactics cards can be played by ANY character.

- Item cards and treasure cards are not the same thing. Spells and abilities that specifically target a treasure card or inn card cannot target the other. For most other game purposes, item cards and treasure cards can be treated alike (e.g. both can be pick pocketed by a rogue!).

- When you recruit a wizard, you draw a spell card. When you recruit a cleric, you draw a prayer card. If you recruit a character that is of both classes, you draw BOTH a spell and prayer card. These extra cards are not attached when drawn, but are placed faced down in your hand until cast. Note that this ability is in place ONLY when you are in the inn.

- If the special effect uses the term "recruit", then you get the bonus cards if recruiting a wizard or a cleric. If not (such as resurrect, for example), then you do not get it.

- When item cards are drawn from the inn, they must be attached immediately, or discarded.

- You can draw spell and prayer cards from the inn even if you cannot use or attach them at that time.

- When two react abilities conflict, monsters have priority. In other words, if both player and monster have "when monsters are revealed" triggers, the monsters trigger first, then the raiding party. React abilities thereafter trigger clockwise around the table so that everybody has a chance to react to the event.

- OTHER PARTIES CANNOT AFFECT BATTLES GOING ON INSIDE A CRYPT WITH A REACT SPELL OR ABILITY, unless a card or power allows you to do so. This limitation is relaxed slightly for the CM, who may have character abilities or spells that give the crypt the ability to interact with his own party. In other words, other parties can react to "when a party enters the tomb", or "before a party enters the crypt", but not react to actions happening inside the crypt.

- Free actions (healing in the inn, shifting cards, banking treasures), happen at the BEGINNING of a party's turn, not during or at the end of it. Note that banking treasures can occur when characters return to the inn as well (before the end of the player's turn). But if the players has not banked their treasures before ending their turn in the inn, the cards stay there until the next time the player's turn comes around, and are subject to being lost if the character is killed in the inn.

- When a character dies, he is placed in the discard pile, and a new character is drawn from the pool and placed in the inn.

- A party does not have to raid a crypt even if they are on the crypt door (unless a card or ability FORCES them to raid the crypt).

- Parties cannot back out of a crypt after it is revealed that traps are present. The party MUST face the trap.

- AFTER a party has faced a trap, they can decide whether to go on and see what is next, or withdraw and return to the crypt door. They do not get to see the next card before making this decision.

- Parties can choose to fail a trap roll and deal with the consequences.

- Failed traps are discarded, not placed face down back in the crypt.

- After a party has cleared all traps, and it is announced that there are monsters present, the party may withdraw before monsters are revealed, and return back to the crypt door.

- When playing as CM in a crypt that has one or more traps, the CM should say "THERE ARE TRAPS" or that "A TRAP EXISTS" or "THERE IS AT LEAST ONE TRAP". The CM should not say how many traps there are, or make any indication that a trap is the only trap in the crypt. Likewise, CM's should NEVER reveal a trap's name, or given any non-essential information about the trap. Traps are meant to be blind encounters, and parties shouldn't know what trap it is when facing it.

- After a trap is resolved (disarmed or not), the player may decide to return back to the crypt door without going further. This decision must be made before the CM reveals what other cards may be in the crypt, whether another trap or monster or treasure. Therefore, after all traps are defeated, the party can withdraw before fighting monsters.

- When a CM announces there are monsters, but BEFORE REVEALING THEM, the party may decide to not continue in the crypt. This is not considered fleeing to the inn. The party simply returns back to the crypt door.

- Random monster and trap encounters - Any time a monster or trap is encountered (randomly or otherwise), it can be banked (if defeated). The exceptions are those times when the effect creating the encounter states otherwise, such as certain tactics.

- Once a battle has begun, characters using a battle action to flee must flee to the INN, not back to the crypt door. Presumably, the monsters chase the party all the way to the stairs of the tomb!

- When monsters draw cards in a crypt, they cannot use cards with TURN actions. They can only use battle actions and react triggers as appropriate. Remember that your characters have TURN action cards too...

- Combat is considered the ENTIRE party's turn. The party's turn is not over until the combat is complete (e.g. the crypt is cleared or the party flees). Combat rounds, battle actions, or a character's turn in combat are all part of the combat, and may repeat as many times as necessary to complete the combat. Spells cast in combat cannot be cast again during the same combat, subject to card one use per turn rules.

- When a combat turn is over, all cards left in the crypt are turned face down again, and any attached items to monsters in the crypt are discarded. All damage tokens on monsters in the crypt are also removed.

- When a character returns to the inn without the rest of the party or is killed, all items attached to the character are discarded.

- When a card kills characters (whether in the tomb or in the inn), you can replace them in the inn with characters from the pool.

- When recruited MONSTERS are killed, you DO NOT draw new characters from the pool and place them in the inn.

- When a card says "discard characters from the inn", or "return characters to the pool", they are NOT replaced in the inn. The inn can become bare, and this is how it is meant to be played. You must draw spell cards or win treasures to be able to draft characters from the pool. You may also find spells that allow you to recruit monsters.

- Character stats and HP's are public knowledge. Players can wander around the table and look at other parties.

- The act of entering the tomb to move directly from the inn is considered a TURN action (the MOVE action). You cannot simply shift your character from the inn to the stairs, and say "I'm not going to move this turn; I think I'll pick-pocket instead." The inn and the steps are not interchangeable.

- Multiple parties may occupy the same space. However, parties may NOT attack each other.

- If a card requires a party roll such as "party makes a skill check", but does not specify how many characters may roll, then the entire party can roll, and all skill dice from all characters are included.

- Unless otherwise stated, ties go to the defender.

- When attempting to pickpocket, the rogue's party selects an ITEM OR TREASURE from a target party that is within his movement range. The rogue rolls his skill dice. The target party chooses ANY character from its party (before the rogue's skill dice are rolled), and rolls that character's skill dice. The rogue's roll must EXCEED the target party's roll to steal the treasure. Ties go to the target party. Stolen cards are attached to the ROGUE (or discarded if they cannot be attached). If the rogue fails, the character that rolled the skill check "catches" the rogue, and gets to make a free attack against the rogue. If the rogue is killed, all his attached items are given to the target party, which must then attach all the items or discard them. If the attached items include any treasure, they may be banked when you reach the Inn, like any other treasure, but in general treasures are only banked at the end of a normal crypt raid or in the Inn (e.g. you cannot bank treasure recovered from the rogue until returning to the inn).

- Pickpockets can reach a party on a crypt door OR in a crypt, although technically, once a crypt is cleared (and the character is standing in it), it is now a hallway.

- If a party loses all characters, the party immediately draws a new character from the pool (not the inn).

- Reacts are handled in the following order (some of this is directly from the posted FAQ):

First, handle "always happens" effects - namely, text on the character or monster which does not have "React:" in front. (For example, when monsters are revealed Maelifcorum draws and attaches his items before any Reacts get to trigger.) Then, handle all the "React" triggers. In both cases, start with the player whose turn it is, resolve that person's effects, then go around the table to the left until all effects are resolved.

If a Character and a monster have reacts or traits that occur at the same time, the monster has priority. The order of resolution is:
- Monster traits
- Character traits
- Monster reacts
- Character reacts

Here are some of the more common react triggers, in the order they happen during the turn:

- When your turn begins
- When you enter the tomb
- Before you enter crypt
- When you enter a crypt
- After you enter a crypt
- Before traps are revealed
- When traps are revealed
- After traps are revealed
- Before monsters are revealed
- When monsters are revealed
- After monsters are revealed
- Before a combat round
- At the start of a combat round
- Before a monster's combat turn
- Before a character's combat turn
- When you exit a crypt
- When you exit the tomb
- When your turn ends

Additional reacts, which may happen at various times:

- Before a character sustains damage
- When a character sustains damage
- After a character sustains damage
- When a character is killed
- Before a character rolls dice
- After a character has rolled dice
- After a party has recruited

- When monsters draw cards, references on the cards that refer to monsters now refer to characters or party, and vice versa. All effects and abilities on the card should be interpreted to benefit the monster against the player. So a card that says "target a monster" now should be read as "target a character in the raiding party". If the monster ever becomes part of the party, then the card can be read as normal because the monster is now a character.

- A single character can react multiple times in the same turn or combat, so long as they do not react with the same spell card more than once as per rules above.

- If a react ability allows you to draw an inn card, and the drawn inn card ALSO has a react ability that can be played at the same time, the drawn inn card can be played immediately. This is no different than reacting multiple times with cards from your hand on the same turn.

- If a monster has a react ability that allows it to draw inn cards, it can play the inn cards immediately. Therefore, if the monster draws another card with a react ability that triggers at the same time as the first, it can play those cards as well. For example, a monster with "React: When monsters are revealed, draw 3 spells", can cast any spells drawn that say "React: When monsters are revealed" as soon as they are drawn.

- If a monster draws cards when revealed, reacts such as "When a party enters the crypt" and "Before monsters are revealed" cannot be used. Read the reacts literally.

- "When monsters are revealed" reacts are part of the reveal phase before COMBAT. If you have a spell that drafts a monster into your party, the "when monsters are revealed" phase does not occur.

- When a monster with attached cards joins a raiding party, it keeps all attached cards with it unless a card or effect states otherwise.

- There is no official hand limit, but many house rules play with a limit of 10.

- When an inn deck is empty, the deck is re-shuffled.

- Characters that are killed and resurrected still lose all their attached items.

- Maximum party size is 5. Monsters count against this party size limit. The limit can only be exceeded if a card or ability allows you to do so.

- When monsters are added to a player's party, they act as normal characters (e.g. they can have items and attached spells, and they are subject to item restrictions).

- If a monster attacks in a combat round, and is thereafter recruited to the party via a spell, it cannot again attack that round.

- You cannot cast spells and tactics from your hand onto monsters you control as the CM, unless a spell or card power allows you to do so.

DIRECTLY FROM THE FAQ:

- Card updates:

Burn the Inn: must be discarded after use.
Harassment: reacts to the beginning of your turn.

- Card Notes:

Chaff: When he dies, a character is added to the Inn as usual, regardless of Chaff’s effect.

Displacement: Both crypts where cards are being swapped must have at least one card.

Inferno: The caster may spread the wounds around as he sees fit.

Oath Bound: The crypt the party is being directed to must have at least one card at the time of casting. If the crypt is cleared out, the party must still go to the crypt door before raiding any other crypt, though it will obviously not raid the crypt.

[What Links Here]